New car

Hey everyone,

First time poster long time reader here - thought I'd make my first post with something completely un-property related - how ironic :rolleyes:

I'm a lover of cars and have been all my life. I have been holding out buying a nice car for 5 years and instead bought 8 ip's since. Total portfolio is worth in the region of $2.7 mil owing around $1.8 mil...whole portfolio is neutral cashflow (positive if you include depreciation)

I am in my late 20's in a secure PAYG job around $80k salary with around $100k in the bank...(half of it equity)

Though I've been tempted before, I am seriously thinking of dropping $45k on a new car...everything in my heart is saying do it but everything in my brain is saying don't!...I feel I'm at a stage where I need to wet my whistle with a reward to motivate me to continue with my goals

Thought I'd post this on a seemingly anti-depreciation-asset forum for some different perspectives...do people think $45k on a car is ridiculous in my financial situation?

Bear in mind if I wasn't going to buy a new car, I would buy 2 properties but with a new car I will only buy one until I refinance on something else....

Help Please! (if you must know, its an Audi S3 :D:D )

Funny how I can make a decision to buy an interstate property sight unseen after 15 mins of research but am getting analysis paralysis over weeks with a car!

A $45k car seems out of proportion to your income, but not to your net worth ($1mil, it seems).

I've never been a car bloke, so that's about all I can say.

Funny how I can make a decision to buy an interstate property sight unseen after 15 mins of research but am getting analysis paralysis over weeks with a car!
That's because the property was a good investment but the car isn't. I know the Audi S3 is an awesome car, but do you really need one? I mean really?

Does it have to be new? You could save a bit by getting one that's 2-3 years old instead.