New/Used Car Salesman on the forum...

Hi everyone,

Wow its been ages since ive posted in here. As some of you may already know, I now work as a new and used car salesman in the western suburbs of Melbourne. Im now working an average of 58hrs per week and still a "trainee".

So far I am really enjoying all the new challenges the career brings with it. Having only worked in the industry for my third month now and with limited prospects coming my way, I think its time I start spreading the word.

There are only so many people who walk into our small dealership so I thought I would start to let anyone and everyone I come into contact with know that I sell New Isuzu Dmax Utes, New Kia and all kinds of used cars.

Cheers, Mick

Hiya

Dem Kia Sorrento is nice bus.

We have the plat version

I can highly recommend it for a driveable, fuel efficient, monster torque 7 seater

With the agent bashing (constantly) and buyer agent bashing on here (particularly bad the last few days)..... I'm not sure you should admit to being a used car salesman :p.

Aren't you way down there with agents, BAs and lawyers? :p:D

Seriously, I hope you do well and I think it is great that you are having a go at something different. I remember when you flagged your intention to change careers, and you said the facial hair had gone. Has it crept back after Movember? Or are you still clean shaven?

Hiya

Dem Kia Sorrento is nice bus.

We have the plat version

I can highly recommend it for a driveable, fuel efficient, monster torque 7 seater

For sure. The Platnium Sorento is the flag ship vehicle for Kia in my opinion.

With the agent bashing (constantly) and buyer agent bashing on here (particularly bad the last few days)..... I'm not sure you should admit to being a used car salesman :p.

Aren't you way down there with agents, BAs and lawyers? :p:D

Seriously, I hope you do well and I think it is great that you are having a go at something different. I remember when you flagged your intention to change careers, and you said the facial hair had gone. Has it crept back after Movember? Or are you still clean shaven?

Hahaha... Im proud to be in an industry where with no university degree or no real qualifications what so ever, you can potentially make over 100k+ PA working approx 60hrs per week. Our top sales woman made 100K+ the last 4 years running.

In regards to the face, im all clean shaven and have been since I started. I was considering doing Movember seeing as though Isuzu D-Max is an official partner, however, being the new guy I didnt want to step too far out the square so quickly. I will be sporting a super "porn" style 'Mo next year though to support the cause. :D

Cheers, Mick

Hahaha... Im proud to be in an industry where with no university degree or no real qualifications what so ever, you can potentially make over 100k+ PA working approx 60hrs per week. Our top sales woman made 100K+ the last 4 years running.
$100k / 52 / 60 = $32p/h

Reasonable hourly rate, but there are plenty of jobs out there that would pay similar or more without tertiary qualifications.

What sort of $ are you earning at present as a trainee? Maybe $60k / 52 / 58 = $20 p/h
A McDonald's trainee (over 21) earns around the same.

I guess as long as you enjoy it that's the main thing :)

Perhaps worth canvassing some local businesses?

Andrew de a are you uni trained with little imagination? :)

Our son finished year 12 and stepped straight into a assa lab assistant job (casual) on about that.. great for while he's waiting for apprentiship intervews.

Our slasher guy, any of the mine truck/ bogger operators/ shut down workers, business guys/gals that have worked their own businesses.

Theres got to be heaps of others.

KJ

Any solo operator/trade should be able to top those earnings.

But for totally unqualified, there's a big gap in the market for mobile assemblers, simple stuff Ikea type furniture, gym equipment, etc. at around $50/hour.
Hardly any tools/equipment required.
The few that I know are always flat out and putting on more workers.

Any solo operator/trade should be able to top those earnings.

But for totally unqualified, there's a big gap in the market for mobile assemblers, simple stuff Ikea type furniture, gym equipment, etc. at around $50/hour.
Hardly any tools/equipment required.
The few that I know are always flat out and putting on more workers.

But is that what they charge for the actual assembly? i.e. on top of that there is car expenses, and travel time? How much would it be per hour if you include travel time? Obviously managing that travel time would be the skill as well.

There is a minimum call out/assembly fee, as any trade would charge.
Jobs would be arranged so you're not driving from one job all the way across the city to another job.
If necessary, surcharges are charged.

Hobo what jobs pays $32 an hour with no tertiary education?
I've got friends working manual labor jobs that earn $30+.
There are many sales roles in other areas (other then vehicle sales) that pay higher than $32.
I earn around $29 an hour in IT without tertiary qualifications (granted it's not $32, but know of people earning above $32 in IT without qualifications).
I've known franchisee run McDonald's store managers to be on more than $32.

Am sure there are plenty of others. Probably not that many that you can just step into without any experience in the industry, but then am sure that's likely the same of the car salesperson earning $100k for 60 hours, sounds like they've built to that level over quite a few years...

Considering earning potential though, as an employee, the sales job still has the best potential opportunity for earnings.
If you can become an elite salesperson, you income can multiply many times over, even putting in less hours.
Same is not so true for working other jobs where you are on a fixed hourly rate, as you can't get the same leverage, no matter how long and hard you work.
Having a business set up is the better option for no cap on potential earnings.

$100k / 52 / 60 = $32p/h

Reasonable hourly rate, but there are plenty of jobs out there that would pay similar or more without tertiary qualifications.

What sort of $ are you earning at present as a trainee? Maybe $60k / 52 / 58 = $20 p/h
A McDonald's trainee (over 21) earns around the same.

I guess as long as you enjoy it that's the main thing :)

Perhaps worth canvassing some local businesses?

Good point. Show me the Macca's job application form, with 60k PA earnings, and ill sign up tomorrow. :D

Cheers, Mick

Actually, as someone who worked at Maccas for almost 5 years, and was offered a management role, this is correct. You can easily earn over $20p/h.

um..........sure after 5 years service Id hope youd be near 20 :)

but the quote was for a 21 yr old + trainee starter.................

aint seen one .....

Good point. Show me the Macca's job application form, with 60k PA earnings, and ill sign up tomorrow. :D
Cheers, Mick
In reality you are unlikely to get 60h pw at McDonalds as believe overtime would be required, was just pointing out the hourly rates were similar when you break it down. You could go fulltime at Maccas and get part time nightfill for 20 hours per week to make up your 60...

aint seen one .....
Ain't seen what? A 21 year old working at McDonalds?

Considering earning potential though, as an employee, the sales job still has the best potential opportunity for earnings.
If you can become an elite salesperson, you income can multiply many times over, even putting in less hours.
Same is not so true for working other jobs where you are on a fixed hourly rate, as you can't get the same leverage, no matter how long and hard you work.
Having a business set up is the better option for no cap on potential earnings.
Good point, although as pointed out even the experienced salespersons hourly rate isn't fantastic. There is potential to increase earnings but depending on the field of sales there are likely still ceilings you can hit.

um..........sure after 5 years service Id hope youd be near 20 :)

aint seen one .....

Maccas is unlikely to put anyone on over 21 without experience - heck you'd be lucky to get them to hire you at 17 without experience. Although I know some of the women I worked with were over 50 and at maccas.

I was just pointing out that the hourly rate can be possible, even at maccas.