New Western Sydney Employment hub - BUYING IN SYDNEY? -Proximity to work is important

The newly released area is four times the size of Centennial Park & will accommodate up to 16,500 workers and serve as a major economic catalyst for new employment and investment in Western Sydney.

This is an additional 800 hectares of land at the intersection of the M4 and M7 which will increase the capacity of the area to approx 40,000 workers
more here
http://www.planning.nsw.gov.au/Prog...rnSydneyEmploymentArea/tabid/366/Default.aspx

There is also a proposed road network connecting the employment areas in Blacktown and Penrith local government areas with the M7 and M4 Motorways and Mamre Road.
http://majorprojects.planning.nsw.gov.au/index.pl?action=view_job&job_id=201

All those jobs AND affordable housing. Another reason why I love Western Sydney.:D

hello Skater,

I notice you are into property investment. I am new to this stuff. Wondering if you can give your opinion on what the prospects are for Blacktown? I am intending to get a 2 bed split level unit for around 315k. I am concerned about the crime and the reputation. I am first home buyer. Also, I intend to keep the place for 6 months and then rent it out. Worried about the reputation. However don't investors buy somewhere cheap right before the boom? We are at the bottom of the property cycle, so I guess it will only go up. And yes, the unit is at the top level (level 4 and 5) and is the 2nd last unit of the lot. So I am gathering there will be safety.

I am sure the place that you are looking at is lovely, however $315k is a LOT of money to spend on a 2 bed unit. You can purchase a 3 bed HOUSE for less a little further out. It won't be new, and it might not be brick either, but you will find that the new units that developers sell have a large profit margin built into them for themselves and you could be at risk of paying much too much for it.