Newbie Fence situation

Hi guys,

I'm asking this as I'm a newbie to this topic. I recently bought a piece of land and had the titles given to me recently. The owner of the land adjoining to mine has started building his house and has just served me notice via his contracted fencer asking me to pay half the cost of the fence to divide our properties.

I'm happy with this matter but just to be cautious, is there any questions I should be asking the fencer/owner/council? I'm very green in this matter and would like anyone with experience in this to guide me through. I've had a read of the Victorian fencing laws as well prior to posting this

The invoice states "Double paling and capping and exposed post timber boundary between our lands" quoted at $47.85 per quantity (unsure of measurement here) with 30.5 units (quantity) to a total of $1459.43. Is this a fair pricing? I havent got a clue about fences..

Thanks ahead in advance
Dennis

I assume the "Quantity" is metre of fence.

Is the value quoted your half? or the total?

It's cheaper than the 12m of hardifence I just paid for, that was over $100/m

You are obliged to pay half of whatever is the cheapest material considered "normal" in your area ... or ... the material you jointly choose. Not merely what you neighbour chooses to erect.

Colourbond or timber panelling are the common "normal" fence materials nowadays. Not sure what is the cheapest is between the two ... but if you'd like the look of the paling then just go for it.

You would pay direct to the fencing contractor.

Hi guys,

Thanks for your replies.
Jake: thats my quoted half of the fence cost. What is hardifence? Mine's just plain exposed timber

Lizzie: Thanks for the info.

I think the price is reasonable shifting through different websites on the net.
Should I be asking any specific questions or does this seems pretty straightforward..

That's a good price for fencing. We've just had ours done and the cheapest we could get was $61 a metre.