NEWBIE - Need Help...with Property Investment

Hi ALL !!

First of all, I must say that this is a very impressive site!
The people here are very knowledgable and helpful ~
Let me introduce myself.
I am a fresh chemical engineer graduate and I am currently working in
an engineering firm. Dad from overseas would like to make an investment
in Melbourne. Our budget is $450-$500k for an apartment.

My questions are :

What would be the best location ?
I was thinking of Melb CBD or anywhere within 5 kms.
If its in the city centre, I would be paying about $450 for a 50m2 apartment.
Is it worth it ? I guess thats a trade off due to the strategic location.

How should I finance it ?
With my current starting income, I could borrow about $315k according to my financial broker. Dad plans to borrow the remanining $185k or so from overseas. Is this a good idea?

Who should I go to ?
Would going to a financial broker be a good idea ? He was recommended by a property agent that I met.

Should I invest in a property worth $500k or two properties worth $200k ?

Since I am really foreign in this property investment thing, would you guys kindly advice me
on the proper procedure on the whole transaction of purchasing a property and the necessary details that I would need to know?

I really hope you guys who are the experts around here would help me out in this. I am looking to purchase a property by June 2008.
Thank you so much and I really really appreciate it !!

I can't really answer your questions because I don't know enough about your situation but I don't believe buying an investment because 'your dad thinks it is a good idea' is a good enough reason.

Is this property for you to live in or a pure investment ?

Where did you come up with a budget of $450-$500k for an apartment ?

Are you willing to stand on your own two feet or do you need your dad to hold your hand ?

Do you think it is a good idea to invest ? Why ?