options

have just read a little bit about options in one of the threads.
Does anyone know where i can research this in detail.

i am a carpenter with experience in all aspects of renovations.
Would an option to purchase a property at a set price still allow you to renovate before settlement, in the hope of increasing the equity of the property, to then be used as a deposit?
Hope i'm making sense!

Best case scenario you purchase a property, with technically no money down.
Worst case you can't close the deal. In this case could you limit your loss by splitting the profit that you make after the property sells.

This way, either the vendor gets their agreed contract price or if you can't finance by settlment, the property will be far more attractive and potentialy sell for more. Could this extra profit be split by both parties?

Any info on this would be very much appreciated as i have the guts and detirmination to get out of this rat race, however lack of funds enables me to get creative.

regards

Gecho

G'day Gecho,

Your "Location" shows as "Vic-Qld" - can you explain?

Where are you based? Are you planning on moving to Qld? Where would you be able to do such a renovation (Vic or Qld)?

Regards,

hey Les,
thanks for reply.
I am currently based in Melbourne, however looking to move to Brisbane by year end.
Would be happy to do this in either of these two states.
If you have any suggestions or info it would be very much appreciated as i believe this deal is possible to put together if i have all the info required.

regards

gecho

Generally people would you use a delayed settlement for this purpose.

If you were the vendor , would you want someone going in and altering you property if they had no obligation to buy it??!!

Options are usually used when someone wants to get a Development Application approved prior to committing.