Our Story

Hi, I asked for some advice last week and people were really helpful, so since I've lurked here for years I thought it might be about time to take a deep breath and contribute a bit. What I enjoy most (both here and in YPI/API) is reading about other people's investment journeys, so here goes:

*Hbd and I somehow wangled a loan in 1995 when I was a full-time Uni student and he had a tenuous, casual job. Bought first property in New Lambton (Newcastle,) for $67,000. Main road. No plumbing to kitchen. Outside toilet - was pregnant and HATED the night time visits! - old copper for laundry, and gas box for hot water in dodgy bathroom. We thought it was the Taj Mahal. I remember being giddy with excitement and hbd and I toasting each other with champagne when he got a massive pay rise to $26,000 (!) making it even more affordable.

*Lived there til our baby was 20 months old, then put tenants in (rent covered mortgage,) and went back-packing around Europe for 6 months...with a toddler in nappies...not sure what we were thinking!

*1988 - Came home and both got jobs. Left tenant in New Lambton and looked for home we could afford on one income. Bought in Mount Hutton for $112,000. Used second income to madly pay it down with the view of time off for me with next baby.