Overseas invester wanting to invest in Australian older Real Estate

Hi there,
I have been in Australia for nearly 3 months now but I am a UK resident. I have been reading a reasonable amount about the Australian real estate system here and want to invest but have found one crucial problem. I have heard that I might only have the option of buying new properties and vacant land in order to bulid upon and not buy older properties because I am not an Australian resident. I am only interested in older housing and not new real estate. Is this true? or are there conditions regarding buying older properties which might allow me to buy the type of properties that I want? I would appreciate any help in this matter.

Thanks
Graham

G'day Graham,

There are exceptions to the "buy only new" ruling - (thinks...) if you are residing in the country, I "think" you can buy second-hand, but would have to sell upon leaving. I think you are allowed to buy to live in while here.

Vague recollections of some other possibilities - but check out for yourself - www.firb.gov.au (Foreign Investment Review Board) - to get all of the good oil.

Regards,

Hey Graham,

What you need to a joint venture (JV). I'll provide the Oz citizenship and the opportunity to buy existing property, and you provide the finance (hehehe).

Seriously though, there are peole providing jv's- especially wrappers. I don't know if that would interest you though.

Thanks guys

Its a bugger. Yeah I thought so! I'm going to get a sponsership Visa in October for 4 years and this will hopefully help for the short term. You never know the rulings might change over this time period.

Thanks for your help.
Graham

Hi,
Have you thought of a lease option? You may be able to control the property for reasonable amount. But i would imagine that you would at some need to either purchase the property or sell it.

Regards Tony.

Overseas investor

Graham

I am (was) a pom myself (the cricket made me change nationality....).