Owner Builder Experiences?

So I'm decided to finally do the knock down rebuild of my PPOR to see me comfortable in my advancing years.

Been speaking to builders and finding them to be either arrogant young guys quoting super high or well known older guys who don't return calls or use emails and don't like new ideas because they haven't done them before. They want to build what they always built and their main point is that they live in a house like that and they think it is good enough.

So I guess I got to explore the Owner Builder concept.

Anyone done it and can share their experiences?

Pros,

Save money,
Get what I want,
Fill my time which I have plenty of.
I'm pretty smart, how hard can it be?

Cons

Banker is scared of it
Traders might try it on with me when they realise I am new to the game
No warranty from one builder.
Can imagine it will drag on and I will probably hate it at some point. I got a pretty short attention span which more than offsets my high IQ :)

As I said, I am pretty smart. Smarter than some people I see taking this route. Though maybe I'm not as trades smart. My missus is a barrister so she understands contracts and insurance etc.

What can you guys add?

So I'm decided to finally do the knock down rebuild of my PPOR to see me comfortable in my advancing years.

Been speaking to builders and finding them to be either arrogant young guys quoting super high or well known older guys who don't return calls or use emails and don't like new ideas because they haven't done them before. They want to build what they always built and their main point is that they live in a house like that and they think it is good enough.

So I guess I got to explore the Owner Builder concept.

Pros,

Save money,
Get what I want,

Cons

Banker is scared of it
Can imagine it will drag on and I will probably hate it at some point. I got a pretty short attention span which more than offsets my high IQ :)