Pay off PPOR or invest?

Hi all, I've been stalking these forums for a while now reading and learning as I go even picked up a few books from the recommended list so I thought it was about time I joined up. But I still have a long way to go and definitely do not know enough to be jumping into anything. So I'm just after a bit of advise.

I'm 24 and currently building in Byford Redgum Brook Estate. I Purchased the land in late 2012 and the slab should be going down soon (I wasn't in much of a rush) so that also helped me miss out on MLI. I work in construction FIFO and am currently on 200k-250k (it's hard to judge a yearly income as it depends on overtime worked during the week) but keep in mind this is a very volatile industry and the job has to end so i could be back on 100k in the City in a year or two.

In the coming weeks when my 20% deposit is taken out of my bank account for my ppor I should have around 50k left in my offset account. Now the question is should I just keep piling my income into the offset account, look into buying an investment property asap or hold off until the property is paid off or has a decent amount of equity. I would of liked to wait until my ppor was paid off but the tax man is killing me so getting that tax down while making some good cg would be great.

Thoughts?

Why not do both? Pay off the mortgage, then redraw to invest. Over time you will have no PPOR debt and have investment debt only.

If I had my time again I'd listened to those whi told me to pay down the mortgage. I"ve made a tadd more money than I could've by paying ppor but not by that much. Too many maibtenance issues with resi that eats profit. I've had good growth! But can't inagune how bad others might feel with slower markets

Hope this helps

So there is a bit of number crunching I need to do keeping in mind the capital gains and tax deductions that I would be missing out on not investing.

I agree with Aaron. Do both.