Penalties for crashing contract

Hi All,
Just wanted to confirm any or all of the penalties associated with each scenario
after signing a contract to purchase .
Note the property is in Brisbane.

1) Penalty for Pulling out during cooling of period ? $$
2) Penalty for contract crashing due to finance ? $$
3)Penalty for contract crashing due to building and pest? $$

Any other penalties that I may not have thought of....

Thanks guys

1) 0.25% of purchase price under standard REIQ contract
2) Nothing - must inform vendors solicitor prior to cut off date Proof maybe required
3) Same as number 2

What James said ...

Don't forget that you must notify the purchasers/agent before close of business on the finance/pest dates if there are any problems and you want to exercise your rights under these conditions - otherwise those conditions are regarded as being fulfilled and the contract becomes unconditional.

Cheers
LynnH

Hi, I am new to all this.
I have similar questions.

In the case where the sale is subject to finance.
Before I made the offer(or sign the contract), do I have to get a pre-approval? Or Seeking finance can all be done after?
Another question is, deposit pay upfront will be return if I can't get finance, yes?

Thanks for any help.

Before I made the offer(or sign the contract), do I have to get a pre-approval? Or Seeking finance can all be done after?
Another question is, deposit pay upfront will be return if I can't get finance, yes?
You can apply for finance after entering into a contract, provided you have a "subject to finance" clause written into the contract. If you are unable to obtain finance, you simply notify the vendor (usually your solicitor/conveyancer does this on your behalf) within the specified timeframe, and your deposit is refunded in full.

Just a heads up if you do find something you like and want to make and offer - you may need to allow yourself extra time in your finance clause - which will not delight the vendors.