Perth move - where to rent

Looks as if I'm likely to be moving to Perth with hubby and kid.

Any locals able to suggest areas where we could rent
- close to public transport
- good primary schools
- has own shopping strip

I am the original former grunge hippy turned chardonnay socialist so anything with a hint of character or bohemianism would be great... although I realise that's not Perth's reputed strong point.

Without going totally overboard, budget is fairly flexible.

Currently live in Brunswick, Melbourne.

Looks as if I'm likely to be moving to Perth with hubby and kid.

Any locals able to suggest areas where we could rent
- close to public transport
- good primary schools
- has own shopping strip

I am the original former grunge hippy turned chardonnay socialist so anything with a hint of character or bohemianism would be great... although I realise that's not Perth's reputed strong point.

Without going totally overboard, budget is fairly flexible.

Currently live in Brunswick, Melbourne.

mt lawley/inglewood/highgate (beaufort st strip)

northbridge/perth

south fremantle

leederville

subiaco

vic park

that is pretty much it, you'll have to be more specific re budget, how many bedrooms/type of house

Thanks for the replies...

Four bedrooms... budget flexible. We'll probably get about $650 pw for our current house, happy to go to $850 or perhaps even a little more for a great place.

Highgate if you like hanging out with drunks and hookers as part of that bohemian greens agenda.

Perth is a good bet but a very small suburb.

Mt Lawley is chockas with champagne socialists - you see them out every day walking their babies in their mountain buggy prams and some kind of cloth nappy bag in tow proclaiming to be "green" on their way to the upmarkets to buy something made here with chinese produts.

Leederville is a nice spot. Pity about the constant detective busts and house raids, but it's a nice spot. you can get any number of overpriced burned coffees, stodgy fish and chips or something called "fusion" food, which tastes an awful lot like my nanna's attempt to cook black bean beef in her new, unseasoned wok. There's a pub, but that's shut during the day and opens on Wed-Sun night as a club, there's a chemist and a photo place, the TAFE has turned into a sport institute and there's a number of schools in the area.

Just up the road is Mount Hawthorn. I like Mt Hawthorn. It has an ACTUAL pub - no really! apparently it's "melbourne comes to perth", but they dont serve a great deal of alcohol and make judicious use of a DJ. oh, and a bakery - one that uses monks as slave labour an hours drive north of Perth is a sh*thole called "New Norcia" - it's an awesome place to get married (and i bloody mean it!) but i don't know about a town that uses monk labour to run everything - how is that productive? anyway, Mt Hawthorn has nurseries and shoe shops and a small shopping centre called "the mezz" whereby you get to pay a 20% premium on your dried apricots just because you're in Mount Hawthorn! awesome! if you dont want to pay a premium, you could always buy your chicken feed - sorry, fruit and veg - at the corner Four Square...sorry, Supa Valu.....oops, i meant IGA and while the teenager bags your groceries you can go next door and get a manicure while-u-wait.

Fremantle would suit most people quite well, especially considering you can actually classify yourself as bohemian AND a champagne socialist - Freo is a diverse populace of people who fit into no category at all, who don't mind sitting on dirty pavement and grotty chairs drinking burnt coffee and digesting the thick stench of the cattle ships with their chicken caesar watching bogans from Hammie Hill drop bog laps and the odd number 11 up the main strip in their hektik XF wit de sterios pumpin mut! and while you're bespectacled by the stupidity of painting a mid 80s family saloon in hyundai purple, some snot will nick your bag from around your ankle as you sit and watch the world go by. but that's okay - they probably needed the cash for their meth program.

If that's a bit too extreme, you could go live out the middle of bumf**k nowhere. Yep, South Yunderup is about as sterile as it gets and nice and "safe" for families, as long as you're happy being safe from anything - culture included. There's the odd school and 7 day IGA...oh and the estuary...which still stinks even after the channel.

Margaret River is the ideal spot for tourists and raising a family. Your child could become a pot smoking communist hippy who enjoys a surf and would one day like to own a skate shop in town, like his mate, and his mate, and his mate, and his mate, and....well, they ARE all individuals as part of mother gaia, you know.

so that's Perth. Clearly it's got nothing to do with what you make of it, it's just some backwater joke for people flying over from Victoria.

funny.....the eastern staters never seem to leave once they're here, though. maybe i should invest in that future beach front Wiluna landbank.

so much anger and humour from BC!

if you can afford it, subi or claremont. next best is leederville, then mt lawley, north perth (dont call it northbridge!), vic park or freo

so much anger and humour from BC!

if you can afford it, subi or claremont. next best is leederville, then mt lawley, north perth (dont call it northbridge!), vic park or freo

get with the program, people are waking up to how awesome nb is, definitely surry hills type place in the making (in terms of dodgy reputation to a great place to live)

all the baghdad comparisons are nonsense although admittedly lake, james and aberdeen sts are worth avoiding after 1am on weekends

im there weekly due to my azn palate and have been going there regularly for over 10 years (used to be an event promoter so had to be out late in NB a fair bit) and to date have not been murdered or raped.

i like northbridge and highgate - during the day and evening. there's nothing like the post dim sum / yum cha walk-around-the-block in northbridge.

it's the post 1am crowd that i try my damdest to avoid - but then, i'm curled up in bed with a 4 year old snuggling in for cuddles and icy cold feet at that time of night normally, anyway.

i like northbridge and highgate - during the day and evening. there's nothing like the post dim sum / yum cha walk-around-the-block in northbridge.

it's the post 1am crowd that i try my damdest to avoid - but then, i'm curled up in bed with a 4 year old snuggling in for cuddles and icy cold feet at that time of night normally, anyway.

Nothing like it cause it's good, or cause that's all we have ?

LOL

no it's actually good - you get to waddle around with all that jasmine tea and occy legs and prawn dumplings sloshing around in your tummy, while you look at all the numpties with their burnt coffee and sharing a factory cheesecake....

Your 1st point appears to have more to do with the lunch thst you devoured than the serenity / other in Northbridge making it good....

2ndly, didn't you suggest the burnt over priced coffees wee (not too far down the road) in Leederville ?

burnt, not overpriced. tho i think over priced is more the problem. why is coffee so exxy here? does everyone just want to rip you off then get down the beach a bit quicker? or are all the baristas off driving dump trucks in newman?

Hi Ausprop, I was talking about Aaron's post where he called them both burnt & overpriced

My theory why coffee is expensive in Perth?

1. Cause pretty much everything is....

2. Cause we're naive uneducated and therfore easily excited by something trendy

I "love" hearing everyone talk about "latte this latte that wihtout knowing wTf they are saying.. I told someone in the office that latte means MILK... and got the biggest your'e a dick head :rolleyes:

I'm assuming a 2 bed t/house (50sqm) in Osb Park for about 1/2 trhe rent amount you're willing to pay is out of the question

Close to the freeway & therefore convenient though.....

I'm assuming a 2 bed t/house (50sqm) in Osb Park for about 1/2 trhe rent amount you're willing to pay is out of the question

osb pk has as much character as my left nut and so would not suit the requirements...

incidentally, 50sqm and 2 bed???

i reckon ossy park is better than most places.

but then, i'm a Cape St boy born and bred.