Ponderings about oil and property prices

I have to admit that this article concerns me from a property investment point of view (and obviously other pov's).

http://www.theoildrum.com/node/5969

While I'm in my 40's, I am relatively new to investing (one IP and PPOR) and would like to continue to add to my portfolio so I can have a reasonable passive income in 20 years time, but my gut tells me that sometime in the next 5 years we will have a large drop in aussie house prices due to oil (as described in the article).

I am no expert in oil and dont pretend to be, just trying to be widely read and question all the assumptions that I base building a property portfolio on.

I would be very happy for someone to convince me that my fears are unfounded. Unfortunately I think oil > supply and demand.

cheers

We hit peak "conventional" oil a few years ago and the fall in production is accelerating. Gawar, the world's biggest oil field has not been audited since the Saudis kicked the Yanks out decades ago. There is reason to believe that it has peaked though. Cantarell, Mexico's big field (and the world's No 2?) which supplies much of the US imports is decaying @ over 20% PA. Mexico will be a net importer soon.

The importance of Peak Oil cannot be overestimated. It is, IMHO, more factual, more critical and more imminent than climate change. Ignore it at your peril.

The importance of Peak Oil cannot be overestimated. It is, IMHO, more factual, more critical and more imminent than climate change. Ignore it at your peril.

Peak oil = the solution to climate change.

You can't burn what you don't have.

If nothing else, moving transport to renewable sources will reduce the amount of oil consumption by established consumer nations by half. Of course, BRIC means that is all offset by increased usage elsewhere.

I'm looking forward to 100% electric cars being mainstream by 2015.

Cheers,
Michael

Peak oil = the solution to climate change.

You can't burn what you don't have.