positive cashflow?

I am really confused when it comes to how to achieve positive cash flow in IP even with this low interest rate.

For example if you buy a property of $300k with 7% interest rate (current 5yr fixed rate), rental expense being 25% of rental income, in order to cover interest payment of 21k,

21k / 75% = 28k should be rental income, which is about $560 pw.

And I think there is no way you can charge $560 rent on $300k property.

I just finished reading 'more wealth from residential property' and from my understanding, what the book is saying is 'keep buying IPs with IO loan, wait for CG while paying interest on loan, then sell some IPs to get ride of debt'.

However, as you accumulate more IPs, you need to deal with increasing pressure from negative cashflow.

Is it what most investors are doing?

Sorry maybe I am asking a dumb question, but as you guess, I am totally new to all these things and trying to learn. :eek:

Any advice if I got this wrong?

Thanks in advance

they aren't dumb questions. a lot of property purchases don't make sense... the losses are funded by peoples other incomes. You are competing against this mentality

I was under the impression that most cashflow positive properties were at the foot of the mountains where $150k properties were renting for $220pw or so (is that even +ve? just off the top of my head)...

Any advice if I got this wrong?

Yes a bit. Firstly buying cf+ properties now.

You need to:
1. Buy a property with 6.5% - 7% gross rental return
2. Get a mortgage of 5.x%
3. Allow for 1.5% - 2% running costs
All this = cash flow neutral at worst and cf+ after tax / depreciation etc.

Secondly, present economic circumstances aside (lower than normal interest rates), most investors start of with cf neg IPs but over time, rents increase to the point where they become cf+ or neutral (IO payments stay much the same) thus allowing for more purchases.