Prime example of why we need financial education

Um; hellooo....change yer own frickin tyre if you are in a hurry.

Why do you reckon they take 2 hours now? Because they have to spend most of their day changing people's punctured tyres.

I can change a tyre, but if the wheel nuts have been put on with a pressure tightener in the tyre shop I can't undo them.

Hence another call to the RACQ.

If you're able to conquer advanced maths (eg nsw 3 or 4 unit) then financial maths is pretty easy really and will come naturally. Better to aim higher than just teach simple mortgage calculations and every day stuff, etc.

I can change a tyre, but if the wheel nuts have been put on with a pressure tightener in the tyre shop I can't undo them.

Hence another call to the RACQ.

My reason for calling them is because I like to keep the road mechanics in employment ;).

BV, basic car maintenence, changing your own tyres... you should be thinking it's a good thing people don't do those things!

Once upon a time i'd always change my flat tyres, but now i only seem to get one every 3-5 years so out of the swing of things a little.

The thing is it's far less embarrassing for a girl to call them, and I don't own a jack and tyre wrench anyway.

There definitely should be more emphasis on financial education taught at schools.

Just simple stuff like don't go out and get loans for cars and other material items.

There was when I went to school but I did "veggie" maths. Don't know if financial education was also covered in Maths 1 or 2. I'm glad I did veggie maths because it did teach me quite a bit about compounding interest, getting loans, and basic investment type stuff. Shame I didn't act on it back then.

Wonder how old he is? If he's only 19 or so then I don't see why all the hating but if he's mid to late 20's then yeah, it's pretty sad. But then I didn't even think about buying a house until I was 32 either.

BV, basic car maintenence, changing your own tyres... you should be thinking it's a good thing people don't do those things!
True; I actually love that folks are so hopeless with their cars - makes me money.

And, it applies to each end of the car cost range.

What I can't cop is when they then proceed to whine and moan because the car has blown up, it's going to cost them more money, and it will mean they are without their car for too long - which is so important to them; yet not important enough to spend some time learning how to keep it on the road more easily. :rolleyes:

We had a guy - and older European gentleman who is one of our customers - came in Thursday....

He bought a new Conformadore last year and brings it to us for servicing - last week was the 30k service, and brought it back to complain that the radio no longer works "ever since" the service...our fault of course....whine and moan, his time spent coming to us..

Turns out the radio was on, but volume was turned down to zero. :rolleyes:

How about reading the owner's manual?

Another; a housewife whose dash light was not working; can we repair it/change the bulb, etc. I said it may take a while becauser the dash may need to come out; we'll need ot for a day - turns out the dimmer switch was turned to dimmest position.

She never even knew she had one... whine and moan, her time spent coming to us, reorganising her day to leave car and so on.

And so on.

Sounds like you get more than your fair share of entitlement mentality. Some people believe they deserve things which are actually a privilege, and to sensible people they look stupid and spoilt when things don't go their way. Doesn't look any better when they also fail to even attempt to think a problem through for themselves and come up with a solution. They are convinced that everything that goes wrong is someone else's fault, and someone else should fix it.

Life is the best educator for these people :)

Sounds like you get more than your fair share of entitlement mentality. Some people believe they deserve things which are actually a privilege, and to sensible people they look stupid and spoilt when things don't go their way. Doesn't look any better when they also fail to even attempt to think a problem through for themselves and come up with a solution. They are convinced that everything that goes wrong is someone else's fault, and someone else should fix it.

Life is the best educator for these people :)
We do have an entitlement menatility representation, but the "ever since" factor applies to all workshops and all customers.

We had a "weekend warrior" in a Prado (he's a bogan tradie, and a total knob) bought his car to us for a service and repair a broken rocker cover gasket bolt (which he broke trying to fix the rocker cover gasket leak himself). We had never seen him before, and the car has been around the world twice by the looks of it..

Couldn't fix the broken bolt without serious work (he thought it'd be "a 5 minute job") - it was at the back of the engine near the firewall - can't be easily drilled out, so reported that, and reported 3 oil leaks - one was a transmission leak.

He calls us up 3 weeks later to complain about an oil leak - "what did you blokes do/not tighten up...it wasn't leaking oil before you serviced it".

Yer classic "ever since". I suggested he bring it back so we could reinspect it to make sure everything was tightened up correctly etc, but I also suggested it was probably one of the 3 leaks we reported last visit.

He is not an entitlement level person per se; just a knob who was "trying it on" for us to fix his peice of cr@p car for free...happens a lot.

The previous two examples are yer standard retired old bloke (maybe a pensioner, but possibly self-funded...retired from Thomastown down to the holiday house, type scenario) and the other was yer standard 40 year old Aussie housewife with the two kids.

From my experience, car ignorance/laziness favours no age, race, wealth level or gender.

We have younger women who know more about cars than most younger mechanics, and 40 year old blokes on 6 figure incomes who couldn't find the dip stick.

Teachers can do so much.

Investing is a bit like that also, in that you need to use your initiative.

All the education in the world sometimes makes no difference, while other times someone with no education decides they want something different, seeks out the education and put it into practice.

I taught year 5-6 in a primary school 10 years ago. I had the extension maths group and thought for fun we would buy some shares. Each child had $1,000 they had to decide on shares, do the multiplying and adding to get to $1,000. Some of the kids were really excited, checking the paper every night. The one who made the most money at the end of 3 months was the winner.

I'd like to trhink that some of them took it further when they go older. I saw an 11 year old reading The four hour work week last year.

What about Nathan Birch! At 13 he was reading real estate magazines.

The original person dicussed sounds pretty typical to me though (for a young person). Young people on here aren't the norm.

the entitlement mentality that inescapably comes with it brings about much bigger, much longer-term problems in the form of misunderstood debt and a lifestyle well beyond one's means :eek:
I think he or she is doing well,at least he has a plan and over time that plan will change many times,and we are all very lucky in this site too have so many economic and other specialists to learn from,when I started investing all you had was books and fast-buck-expert-gurus-forcasters
with belly-up outcomes,it never pays to look down on any,,one guru that I paided good money too see in the late 90,s stood up on her soap-box telling all that would listen she had just booked a round the moon return trip,everyone in the place went wow she knows what's happening I,ll sign up right now,the only problem was with "Pan-Am"and what she failed to foresee was they went bell-up:rolleyes:..

ll

Your on OzBargain expecting to find intelligent people? Have you seen some of the things they post when people are trying to sell stock on there LOL

Look at this pearler, took me 3 seconds to find after logging on the site just now. Someone posted up a FREE iphone game. Look at the comment:

DeWalt on 30/11/2013 - 07:24

Never had a game that gave me finger burn until this game. I didn't enjoy the game much either.

LOL it's a FREE game and they still whinge. That place really attacts a special brand of dimwit.