Property depreciation within SMSF

Hi all.
I am still new to all this and trying to get my head around it.
I am looking at buying a property in the SMSF, my financial manager is telling me I need to buy a new property to take full advantage of the depreciation.
My accountant has mentioned not to worry to much about that, buy new or old. In the SMSF the tax rate is only 15% and not your personal tax bracket which Is much higher, so you won't be receiving as big a depreciation return from the SMSF as you would if it was in your own name.

Eg
Property in your own name - 37% tax bracket

Same property in SMSF - 15% tax bracket

Same depreciation schedule

Do you get a higher return with it in your own name?

Do you need to buy brand new or is buying something that is older and has a twist still a good investment.

I hope that makes sense.

Ralph

I am looking at buying a property in the SMSF, my financial manager is telling me I need to buy a new property to take full advantage of the depreciation.

When your 'financial manager' said this, did he also say, 'And I just happen to know somebody with a brand spanking new property they can sell you.'

Hi all.
My accountant has mentioned not to worry to much about that, buy new or old. In the SMSF the tax rate is only 15% and not your personal tax bracket which Is much higher, so you won't be receiving as big a depreciation return from the SMSF as you would if it was in your own name.

Eg

Do you need to buy brand new or is buying something that is older and has a twist still a good investment.

I hope that makes sense.

Ralph

Ralph - Your accountant is correct. Each $1k of deductions represents $150 of tax savings in SMSF v's around $350-$400 in personal names. That said if its a SMSF property it wouldn't be in personal names so a comparison is a bit irrelevant.