Real estate careers

Hello all again,

A little intro; I am VERY interested in property investing. Have read a little over the last few years and have decided to get into it after buying my houses (PPOR) 2yrs ago. I actually ENJOYED doing the work (call me nuts, I don't care ;)).

I have come to a point where its time to change fields or do more study to get ahead in what I'm doing now. But I need money to live on. Which led me to the following idea...

I start working in real estate!!

Not talking about selling, that part of the process I didn't really enjoy. I'm thinking about property management.

I want to become a serious property investor and have much to learn. My reasoning is that as a property manager I will learn the ins and outs of successful property investment. I will also gain contacts and build a network within the industry for when i get to the point of purchasing an IP myself.

What are the holes in my logic here and what problems may I encounter along the way?

What other (entry level) employment is there within the industry?

Your advice and comments are greatly appreciated.

D.

Last edited by a moderator:
Reply: 1

Duanne,

You're right - being in property management will give you an extremely good grounding of the real estate industry - but it's a really difficult job!

I think some time ago I posted something about the day in the life of a property manager - perhaps if someone has the link they can post it. Or you could search the archives - although I wouldn't be able to point you in the right direction for that.

The pay is lousy (just letting you know just in case you have a family to feed) and you're basically everybody's problem solver.

You'll need to do a 5 day real estate introductory course before you get a job.

Kind regards

JOANNA

Reply: 1.1

Hi Joanna,