Rendered Block Fence to increase valuation and rentals?

Hi all,
Great forum with awesome posts.

I am a newbie living in Dicky beach suburb QLD. I am considering giving the street view of my current PPOR a face lift by putting in a rendered block fence with auto garage gate and render the external of this brick house.

Now the whole reason for this is to hopefully increase the bank valuation of this property and maximise our rental when we covert this to an investment property. Now is this a crazy idea and am I dreaming?

We have revamped the inside of the house with new kitchen, paints, massive size tiles and pull down walls to open up living area. So now the inside looks modern.

I thought that it might complete the look and feel by doing the frot block fence and making it a secure front yard.

For a rental, rendering the house and fence and auto gate is a lot of expense for not a giant rental return increase. Gate especially, they are not cheap and would add little if any rental return increase, and be an ongoing maintenance cost.

A modern interior and presentable exterior are generally fine for a rental, unless you are at the very top end of town.

Agree with Dave. None of that will increase your yeild. They might help with a re-val, but I'd be careful that you don't overcapitalise.

Sounds like you've done some great work on the inside & I agree with you that the exterior needs to be brought up to the same standard. Potential for rent would depend on the area, so you'd need to determine the cost of the reno compared with likely rent increase.
Nevertheless, I do think that it will add a lot of value to the house. The front of the house is one of the most important factors to increase sale price, and the first impression will determine what sort of category the house falls into (original condition v fully modernised etc).