Reno help! Have some cash, no finance...which way to go?

Hi everyone.

I'm a complete newbie to this site and am really starting from the bottom here with respect to property (I live in Melbourne). Please be patient while I explain my situation as I am not sure of the best way to move forward.

I have tried to keep this brief, but it is a bit long...thank you in advance for reading all of it.

Last year I renovated my home and increased the value by $80K after spending only $8K. This home was then sold, as my ex and I split, and we split the cash.
PRO #1...I have some cash...for easiness sake let's say $75K.
CON #1...I have no equity. But the home I sold was in my ex's name, so I am still eligible for first home buyer's duty reduction (and FHB grant but I don't want a brand new home).

So I got the renovation bug, and this is where I have set my sights as to increase my income. My job is on an even time roster, so lots of time to project manage renos (would start with cosmetic).

I have been researching my chosen suburbs to buy, renovate and sell in which suit my entry-level budget and feel pretty clued in as to what is a good deal, how much I should spend and roughly how much I could increase value for. Basically I'm ready to buy.
PRO #2...I have been very thorough in my due diligence and feel like my risks would pay off.
CON #2...I have recently started working as a sole trader and do not have enough documentation to get finance (according to a broker I saw).

But I am so keen to make a start that I thought rather than wait till my 2 years is up, I could approach people NOW who seem to be having a hard time selling their older houses, and offering to renovate it for them as I have the cash ready to go. They would pay me back my reno costs (would agree to keep it below 10% of property value) plus a % of final value difference upon settlement.