Reno - how much not over capitalising?

I am a newbie regarding renovation and in my other post i spotted the word "over capitalizing". I would like to gather your opinions on this to avoid any such issues down the track.

I am not sure what would considered "over capitalizing". This is a 3 bedroom, 1.5 bath, 18 year old, two story townhouse. I am planning to live here for 3-5 years and then might turn it into an IP. The property has been rented at $400 per week with its current condition. I have maximum of $40k to spend.

The kitchen is rather old and in an ugly dark green colour, which i am planning to get a complete new one. And the current budget for this is around $10K including all appliances (which will be $2K). I haven't quite decided on the bench top yet, a stone bench top might look nice, but i am not sure whether it is overkill for a townhouse. I am currently leaning towards getting a laminated bench top for this reason, but i am a bit worried it might not last long, which might be a bad choice in the end?

The bathroom upstairs is a two-way bathroom, which has separate bathtub and shower in one room with a door connecting the main bedroom, and another door connecting to another room with vanity and separate toilet. The vanity is rather old, but other parts are ok, although not of a modern looking. I have never used a two-way bathroom before and initially really wanted to convert it into an ensuite bathroom plus a main bath. But it seems it would be really a costly job, so the other options i am thinking are either just change the vanity to a dual basin one and keeping everything else or a complete reno but still keep it as a two-way bathroom.