Reno virgins...here goes...

After many months/years of scanning through the realestate sites for properties we're finaly in our little granny house, which will hopefully lead to bigger and better things.

I'm a 23 y/o carpenter and have been in my trade for nearly 7 years now. Im lucky to have worked under some of the better if not best builders on the Mornington Peninsula. So I see myself as a fairly advanced carpenter for my age. I plan on using my skills and knowledge to form an extensive property portfollio in the future.

I am also lucky to have parents that have the ability to set up my family with a trust. Our goal is to buy/renovate and then sell when the market is right.

So like I said we had been searching for the right property to kick us off for quite some time. We were set on buying in either mornington-beachside, or south frankston with a budget of $400,000. After many inspections my dad was very sceptical about spending so much on our first project...but I insisted to make money you have to part with it! After many arguments and giving up he came through with the goods and we now own a 3bdr 1bath brick veneer house less then 150mtrs to the beach on a 780sq block!...for just under our budget!!(..and the rear faces north!)...6 weeks later the house next door on the same size block with the same setup is under contract for $475,000. Based on this i think the long wait has paid off?

Now the plan is for me and my partner to live in it while we can and renovate, possible extension. All my labour I put in will be my own time, as will my brother inlaws plumbing labour. Also, my father owns a nursery so all landscaping cost will be very minimal.