Renovating Blog - Regional NSW

Hi eeho,
I just recently put in a new kitchen, the biggest problem I founds locally was the wait time! 6-8 weeks from order date.. In the end I went with a bunnings standard white kitchen, simple, and having the two bunnings meant I could duck over the border to get any parts not in stock.

I got multiple other quotes, all where similar price. The best was flair cabinets in wodonga. They also offer a flatpak option, at the carcass cabinets already comes assembled which is handy.. (Again their is a fair wait time), but if you have your measurements etc early this may be a good option..

Also curtain wonderland is a great option for window furnishings.. They seem to have fairly regular half price sales, you can check them out online.

Another long overdue update

So we are in limbo at the moment because the tenant is refusing to officially end her lease until she has a new house to move into, but is now up to date with the rent and is no longer residing in the property (but her stuff is all still there).

What does this mean - We don't have a set date for the renovation, so I can't book trades or flights, but I still have my fingers crossed for the third week of September

The good news - we do have access to the property to do an assessment and measuring (although I can't be there in person). So my step-dad and the handyman are picking up the keys and heading over Tuesday morning to:

So we finally have a date now! The tenant will be moving on the 15th of October, so I have flights booked for that weekend to pull out all the crappy cabinets in the kitchen, bathroom and laundry. Then we will be able to actually measure properly. The last measuring day did not go as well as planned, as it was hard to get around all of the tenant's crap...I mean stuff...to get accurate measurements. I'll then be flying back on the 1st of November for 2 weeks, but hopefully I'll be able to get the handyman and tradies working hard while I can't be there.

So here is the updated plan:

Friday 17th October - Sunday 19th October
  • Demolish Bathroom wall cabinet
  • Assess corner bathroom cabinet
  • Demolish Kitchen cabinets
  • Demolish Laundry Cabinets
  • Assess alcove cabinets
  • Remove pin board from Bedroom 3
  • Measure bathroom floor area, draw mudmap
  • Measure Laundry floor area, draw mudmap
  • Measure Alcove floor area, draw mudmap
  • Measure kitchen area for cabinets, draw mudmap
  • Measure laundry area for cabinets, draw mudmap
  • Measure bathroom for vanity and mirror
  • Assess light fixtures
  • Measure/count Interior doors
  • Measure external laundry door, front door and back door
  • Assess/measure floor covering for 3rd bedroom
  • Assess/measure outside awnings
  • Measure external brick space for option of stone cladding (Sold as 400 x 125mm)
  • Measure windows/assess for venetian blinds

TO PURCHASE
  • Electric Oven and Range - Gumtree, Good Guys, Bunnings
  • Bathroom Vanity - Bunnings, Tradelink
  • bathroom wall mirror - Bunnings
  • Internal doors - Bunnings
  • External Laundry door, front door and back door - Bunnings
  • Ceiling fans with lights - Bunnings
  • Hogsbristle ? paint - Bunnings
  • Ceiling White paint - Bunnings
  • Paint for external side fence - Bunnings
  • Sugar soap - Bunnings
  • Tile guard (for regrouting) - Bunnings
  • Mould seal for bathroom roof - Bunnings
  • Laundry Cabinets - Cabinets-online.com.au
  • Kitchen suite - Cabinets-online.com.au
  • New mailbox - Bunnings
  • Window furnishings - Spotlight, Curtain Wonderland

QUOTE/BOOK
  • Roof restoration / Replacement
  • Flooring (Tiles? Vinyl?) in bathroom, laundry and alcove
  • External Painting - Tradie
  • Electrician install ceiling fans/lights, electric oven/rangehood, repair external back light
  • Replace canvas on external window awnings
  • Service heater and air conditioner
  • Carpet for Bedroom 3

OTHER TO DO
  • Sugar soap all walls and ceilings
  • Paint all walls (hogsbristle quarter)
  • Paint all ceilings (white)
  • Paint all skirtings, architraves (white)
  • Paint side fence
  • Paint/replace brown roller door
  • Paint verandah ceiling
  • Clean and regrout all existing tiles
  • Install new kitchen cabinets
  • Install new laundry cabinets
  • Install bathroom vanity
  • Mount bathroom mirror
  • Install new flooring in bathroom/Alcove/Laundry
  • Install new window furnishings
  • Install new mailbox
  • Install external stone cladding
  • Eaves on garage need pushing up
  • Repair external back light
  • Repair/replace external fascia where required

TO DO (IF TIME AND MONEY)
  • Built in wardrobes
  • Concrete painting out front and back
  • Shade sail/trellis/roof for outdoor area
  • Built in desk setup in alcove
  • Replace louver windows on third bedroom

Thoughts, comments, suggestions and criticisms all welcome!

thats a lot of work in 12 days!

How many guys are you hiring,

At first glance I reckon youd need at least 4 guys!

thats a lot of work in 12 days!

How many guys are you hiring,

At first glance I reckon youd need at least 4 guys!

Sorry, there was a typo in the date, now edited. I've actually got a full month to get it done (17th October to 16th November), but I'll be on site 17-20th Oct and 1st Nov to 16th Nov. There will be three of us (including the handyman), with additional tradies for the specific jobs.

Update time!

So I've just heard from the agent this morning that the tenant has handed in the keys today on time, so we are all set to pick up the keys tomorrow after the agent has done her inspection and start work first thing Friday morning!

Exciting times.

So I've just heard from the agent this morning that the tenant has handed in the keys today on time, so we are all set to pick up the keys tomorrow after the agent has done her inspection and start work first thing Friday morning!

Exciting times.

So I've just heard from the agent who has just finished her inspection. The only thing we really asked was that the yard be in great condition, as we will be removing most things within the house. Long story short...it isn't. According to the agent it is 'atrocious'... BUT this now means that we may have some money to fix it up, as she doesn't think that the tenant will want to/be able to fix to the standard required.

So this is the 'before' photo, taken when I bought the house 18 months ago. I can't get in to take a current photo until tomorrow, but all this is still hiding somewhere underneath.

Any ideas to get the best bang for my buck with this yard?

Potential ideas:
  • Shade sail over weird post area to make an outdoor dining area
  • mulch in garden beds to tidy them up
  • higher plants next to garage to screen some of that ugly wall
  • Complete lawn mowing

• Bardia 10.jpg
    Bardia 10.jpg
    80.7 KB · Views: 43
  • Bardia 11.jpg
    Bardia 11.jpg
    69.9 KB · Views: 40