Replacing an oven element

Hi all.

Has anyone had any experience in replacing an oven element?

Can it be done? I would assume so.

Is it easy to do, or should I be getting electrician/stove repair person to be doing it?

It's a westinghouse, if it makes any difference.

Regards
Marty

Marty I am a qualified electrician.

If it is a coil type element that simply plugs into a socket you just lift & pull the old one out and plug the new one in.

If you dont know what it is for sure simply give the stove make and model number to your element centre shop along with which element has gone. ie top front left, inside oven etc. They will be able to tell you if its a plug in element or hard wired.

If its hard wired you will need by law and electrician to install it for you.

Having said all that, it may not necessarily be the element at fault. It could be the switch and/or wiring in between element.

I would strongly suggest you seek the services of a qualified repair man tho.

Hope this helps.

To clarify, do you mean an element inside an oven, or on the stove a-top an oven?

I have the latter problem myself, the back/right burner has just kicked the bucket and I'd like to get that fixed rather than buy a brand new oven/stove combo.

Mine is a Chef "Royal" which looks at least 20 years old.

I was just planning on asking my PM's advice, although I haven't got around to it yet.

Attachments

• stove.jpg
    stove.jpg
    32.2 KB · Views: 63
I have the latter problem myself, the back/right burner has just kicked the bucket and I'd like to get that fixed rather than buy a brand new oven/stove combo.

Mine is a Chef "Royal" which looks at least 20 years old.

Hi ianvestor, these can be easily replaced as Rixter mentioned. They are surprisingly expensive though. I think i had to get one once for a job once and they were about $80-$90 new for one element. We ended up getting one at a demolition yard for $15 and plugged it in fine.