Ripping Tradespeople Off

Properly a bit off topic and certainly the other side of the coin from the Forums perception but I'm going to get on my soapbox and ask for an opinion anyway

Roughly 2 years ago I was called out to a property to get an onion on some electrics of a house
As a Electrical Contractor I knew the house as I had upgraded the switchboard some time before this (over a year)
I then told the previous owners the house need rewiring (pensioner couldn't afford it)

I quoted the new owners a price and they reluctantly agreed saying they hadn't budgeted for the additional work but it will be OK handed me the keys and ask if I could start asap

A really long story short these people lived some 2 hours ago and bought the house to renovate and move into a cheaper scenario (very common here).

Two days into the Job the owners discover a wall just suspended by the top plate (was flapping in the breeze (dodgy extension work)) Said he would have to get a builder in

Turned up the next afternoon to find the builder (I has previously had contact with and was under the impression was unlicensed)

The Builder was walking round the house looking at things he could do to improve the house while drinking a JIM BEAM???
The owners left and the Builder told me some of the work I had done had to be redone as he was pulling walls out etc

I voice my concern to the owners the next day only to be told he is now in charge and do what he asks

As I could only get there some afternoons (being stuffed around rerunning cable etc was dragging the job out ie no money so I had to work elsewhere)

I was constantly getting phone calls in the morning from the builder telling me the need to run cable into a specific wall as they need to plaster it the next day
I remember work there a few night till 10PM in the dark just so I didn't hold the builder up only to find the wall still not plaster a week later
The builder was using me as an excuse to bump his price up