secrecy

B

brains

Hi all,

I asked as part of another post why so much privacy when it comes to disclosing locations of forumites' IPs and the response was, lets say, less than enthusiastic.

So i decided to create a new thread and ask again and see if there are any forumites that are willing to answer the following question:

What are the pros & cons of not disclosing the locations of IPs on this or any forum ?

I can offer my own thoughts (but im relatively new at this game)

Pro:By publicising as much as possible the locations of IPs you can create additional demand in the area your IPs are located and therefore increase the price in the area. (even at a minimum, a negligible amount is something)

Con: As previously posted by bribie,If you are looking to purchase properties you might like to keep queit as you dont want additional competition. But surely not everyone is looking in the same price range, in the same area with the same investing strategy so that would exlude a lot if not all the competition.

Hi Brains,

Sorry I missed your original post on locations of IP's and I've been a tad busy. This is a public forum and understandably many here are guarded about their personal lives.

Money is the greatest taboo. People judge you more by how much money you've got than your sexual preferences, politics or religion. Try talking money/investment with extended (even close)family.

As you progress up the financial success ladder not only do you change your solicitors and accountants to cope with the increase in wealth and complexity but friends change too.

It doesn't matter what you post about what and where you are doing IP's as there are more good deals than we can handle. Moreover here's something to chew on; of the motivated people who attend investment seminars (a statistically small number) less than 1% actually apply what they have learnt. Of the people who buy investment books (again a small number) less than 10% read past the first chapter.