Should I use a Buyer's Agent?

I am new to property investing and am looking at buying my first IP. I'm not sure if I should use a buyer's agent to help me buy a property - does anyone have any opinions on this?

I have done a lot of reading over the last two years and I have read books from people who have similar thinking to mine; two of these people act as buyer's agents. Therefore I am confident that they will pick an asset that will suit my needs.

The pros I see are:
- reduces risk due to my lack of knowledge (I will be buying interstate in Brisbane based on the research I have done, but I know nothing about the areas to buy). BA will know the area and know what is fair value for a property.
- Can learn along the way the ins and outs of what to look for in a property / negotiating tactics etc.
- Can leverage off the buyer's agent's connections in the industry - can potentially get an off market purchase from a motivated seller

The cons I see are:
- Have to shell out between 8-15k for the BA fee (although I see this as a good investment)
- May not learn the skills needed to do it well myself (teach a man to fish etc.)

Does anyone have any thoughts / experience with using a BA or any advice to offer?

Cheers

Personally - if I were to buy interstate for my next IP I'd have no issues using a BA for those reasons you've outlined. I've got bugger all free time too.

It's important to appoint an excellent BA though - like all service professions, the quality varies dramatically.

Cheers

Jamie

I used a BA to purchase my first IP, I had limited knowledge of the area and limited experience in negotiating. I feel that they saved their fee in the negotiations and that overall it was an excellent learning experience.

I think for certain people a good BA gives value for money and can get you off to a solid start. Purchasing a dud IP first up would have made moving forward with my investing goals difficult.