Small APRA Fund (SAF) Recommendation

Hi All,

We have an SMSF which invest in a couple of properties. With us living overseas for almost 2y now, the fund is running the risk of being considered non-compliant, which carries very hefty repercussion. As such, we are looking at converting it into a Small APRA Fund (SAF).

I've been checking few SAF providers and their fees, and was very discouraged by how high they are! Our SMSF is not big and most SAF charges around $5,000 pa for $200k fund! Just wonder if any of you could recommend an affordable SAF?

Thanks.

Paul

I'm a accountant who works extensively in the SMSF area. I'm also a fan of the SAF in some instances.

Few trustees understand some of the prudential risks and risks to SMSF balances in the estate planning context. For example:
- Old clients
- Widow / Windower
- No dependants
- Couples in matrimonial strife : BOTH move to SAF until Family Court issues are determined !!
The concern is who will manage the SMSF if someone becomes old, sick, injured, dementia etc???? I have seen a sad dementia case where fund went non-compliant overnight. Kids who steal ?? - Read the decision in the Spry case and it makes your toes curl. What about a adult child mismanaging your last $$$ by investing how they want rather than how you want? No thanks. What about it being unmanaged and left at 0.01% cash instead ?? Thats not great too. A SAF allows YOU to approve an investmnet strategy you design if you want. You can manage risk & return while fit and healthy then allow them to do it later. Clients who have done this have comfort from knowing its independently protected.

SAFs are limited in offers. I have one trustee I prefer as they offer good choices prior to handing control to them. They allow direct property etc. All have tight rules, limits etc but tmy preferred SAF trustee isnt that expensive. Remeber they do ALL the work, admin and includes a lot. Includes APRA trustee protection too. No "Spry" probems !!!!