SMSF investing with a Related Party in a Unit Trust - legal?

Hi All,

Long time lurker, first time poster. I'm fairly new to property investing so hoping to tap into the knowledge here for some advice before seeking a Financial Planner.

I'm looking to purchase a property with my SMSF (yet to be established so currently no specific Trust Deed).

As my SMSF does not have enough money to purchase a property in the range I am after I want to invest some of my own money into the property as well, although do not want to have that money be contributed to my Super.

If a Unit trust is established can a SMSF and a related party purchase a property together?

The following link appears to say it can, although I've found other articles that say this is not possible as you cannot invest with a related party more then 5% of your Super's worth.

http://greenfrogsuper.com.au/using-a-13-22c-trust-to-purchase-property-smsf-and-related-party/

The SMSF would not be taking out a loan, it would only buy the appropriate number of units in the trust that it could afford. The balance of the mortgage would be held by myself. The property would be 100% investment, not rented/used by myself or any related party.

Any advice you all can offer here would be greatly appreciated. If you need more specifics please advise but this is more of a proof of concept idea at the moment.

I haven't looked at the link, but If the trust has a mortgage it wouldn't be allowed. See SIS Reg 13.22C

If the unit trust has no mortgage or charges then it could be possible for you to own say 50% of the units and the SMSF own the other 50%. The SMSF could buy units from you over time. You must seek legal advice as there are many requirements to keep in mind when setting this up.

Or you and the SMSF could buy as tenants in common - not so good as impossible to sell your share to the SMSF later.

Or two SMSF could buy as tenants in common - also perhaps not so good.