Starting a New Small Business Any Tips?

Glad I found this thread. I'm a registered psychologist and thinking about making the transition to private practice. I'm currently working FT in a NGO, current plan is to work for someone with a private practice, learn the ins and outs and then start my own in about a year's time.

How's your practice going Tim? For referral base have you considered ATAPS? Apparently they provide ample amounts of referrals.

I've got my own exercise physiology business and what I do is go out to medical centres, gyms and nursing homes to provide services for clients. I have made links with hospitals, community nurses, doctors and government agencies like Medicare local.. I would suggest throwing your line out to everything you can and see who bites and gives you your most referrals. Re-assess the situation every few months to see if some things are even worth doing.. It's a bit different as I get paid by Medicare and I don't think you do but seriously get your face out there to medical centres.. I've felt intimidated many times with some doctors and they've been jerks but if you hold your own you'll be right.. The ones who referred to me most were the ones who asked a few questions.. Sell yourself to be the best at what you do...keep sending stuff out to doctors. Keep writing good reports. Get yourself in multiple locations and give people a percentage of what you make for referral etc..

Word of mouth and referral is the no.1 way of getting health clients..get your name on the counselling organisation websites around too...

You can do it mate. I'm 25 and went straight into the deep end with it after Uni so you can imagine how clueless I may have looked haha
good luck. If you need anything let me know..

And remember, you have a degree. Worse comes to worse you get a salary like most people in the health industry.. :)