starting to feel "old"..

When I was 36, I met my industrial neighbour who was 72. When we shook hands, he introduced himself as being 72, not his name. He asked me my age, to which I replied 36.

He said "son, I'm planning on living until I am 108, so I'm 2/3rds of the way through and have got as long on this Earth yet as what you've been alive. If you play your cards right, you'll follow me and have as long on this earth as what I've been alive.....and I can tell ya son, you've got a damn long way to go. Enjoy it and look after yourself."

Great attitude but totally unrealistic. Reality is he will likely croak any day now from any number of malady's that afflict the elderly. Good lifestyle or not.

I only recently turned 25...7 years ago.

Im not exactly what you describe as "Pinkboy". I drink (sometimes to excess), I am relatively active, though far from fit, I dont excersise for exsersise sake. My diet consists of what ever someone else gives to me - cooking is pretty well non-existant and I turn my nose up at salad. Nothing fun ever started with "hey, lets go have a salad".

Having been in 2 relativly serious car accidents, add in my propensity for stupidity (...lets have competion to see who can go the fastest/highest/furthest (sometimes all at the same time)) I have a pretty well buggered back... added to my imobility (I sit at work all day), I have started to find 'aches and pains' in places that I didnt know existed a few years ago.
It generrally flares up when Im on a vacation. Which I thought was a sign its time to ease up a bit. But my doctor (god bless him) says Im not doing the damage when Im out doing stuff. Its the sitting at the desk which is killing me. So I started going to the gym (please dont tell my family).
The net result has suprised even me. Im feeling better, drinking less, and Im not nearly as tired. Im by no means 'big' (in fact at 6'2 and 83kgs you would describe me as 'thin') however, I do have a few soft spots which have formed.

I still havent found that "off switch" which Westminster talks about, and watching the sun rise, with a beer (or more likely cocktail) in my hand is still a feature from time to time - though the after effects (which some here have wittnessed) arent nearly as gentle as what they used to be.

Blacky

You got to keep active, I think that's one of the 'secrets' of life. Just look at Dustin Fletcher - turning 39 this week and he's just played one of his finest games of football on the weekend.

I only recently turned 25...7 years ago.

Im not exactly what you describe as "Pinkboy". I drink (sometimes to excess), I am relatively active, though far from fit, I dont excersise for exsersise sake. My diet consists of what ever someone else gives to me - cooking is pretty well non-existant and I turn my nose up at salad. Nothing fun ever started with "hey, lets go have a salad".

Having been in 2 relativly serious car accidents, add in my propensity for stupidity (...lets have competion to see who can go the fastest/highest/furthest (sometimes all at the same time)) I have a pretty well buggered back... added to my imobility (I sit at work all day), I have started to find 'aches and pains' in places that I didnt know existed a few years ago.
It generrally flares up when Im on a vacation. Which I thought was a sign its time to ease up a bit. But my doctor (god bless him) says Im not doing the damage when Im out doing stuff. Its the sitting at the desk which is killing me. So I started going to the gym (please dont tell my family).
The net result has suprised even me. Im feeling better, drinking less, and Im not nearly as tired. Im by no means 'big' (in fact at 6'2 and 83kgs you would describe me as 'thin') however, I do have a few soft spots which have formed.

I still havent found that "off switch" which Westminster talks about, and watching the sun rise, with a beer (or more likely cocktail) in my hand is still a feature from time to time - though the after effects (which some here have wittnessed) arent nearly as gentle as what they used to be.

Blacky

Post made me laugh! Loving this thread BTW. Am newly into my 40s (people think I'm early 30s owing to a trim waist and thick crop of hair :)). Starting to grey a little though c/o stress from work and 3 kids, with one who can't stay asleep through the night :( Despite being an optimist and a fit for my age kind of guy, I have pondered more about my own mortality and fragility of life since turning 40. Probably more pshychological than anything else. I side more with the genetics camp than the postive thoughts and a healthy lifestyle camp...despite being positive and healthy. Having said that, I'm sure a fit mind/body won't hurt your chances of growing older and maintaining a reasonable level of quality of life. One thing I have noticed is how time is exponentially flying past. Would love to know the formula for 'slowing down time'.

You got to keep active, I think that's one of the 'secrets' of life. Just look at Dustin Fletcher - turning 39 this week and he's just played one of his finest games of football on the weekend.

He's a massive outlier that I don't think can be used as an example of anything.

No one else in the past 90 years has been able to play til 39, therefore i dont think a sample size of 1 is fair to say his activity level is what keeps people going.

This is another on of those lets-you-sleep-at-night-myths. My grandmother is 90, has done practically nothing except sit around and read the bible the past 40 years at least and she is still alive.

Then you see someone like Steve Jobs, all the money in the world, clearly an active person a "go getter" if you will. Dead at 56. So many more examples like this too.

My grandad has recently given up playing golf (could see where the ball went) and tennis (his partner passed away...again).

Having given them up, he has 'aged' considerably (is it possible to age any more?)

"retiring" from sport at 93 or 94 is pretty good going. Just dont try and stop him from getting on the roof to clean the gutters.

Oh, and he is still a better driver than my sister :p

Im yet to have a grandparent die - they are all into their mid-late 90's. My great grandma passed at over 100 (103 from memory).

I think that means I have those 'good genes' you lot are talking about. Dont stop you from getting old though.

Blacky

Late 30s, feels like late 60s to me!

Me too as well, mentally at least. I'm fortunate to have no health problems, no back pain, no hassles at all, but feel like I'm in my 50s at least. Perhaps this is because I've have 20 very busy years since leaving school and have done a lot of things I never thought I would.

That said, feeling old isn't necessarily a bad thing. I'm financially comfortable, have a great marriage with wonderful kids, and have more material blessings than I could count.

If this is what being old is like, then I'm in for a lot of fun over the next few decades.

So, I'm 33 years young and like all of us never though I'd get old. I was going to buck the trend cause of my slim, muscular physique and excercise. Right? God I look good and everybody knows it

I'm finding that many of my values are being forced to change. Maybe thats why we get old, so that we're geared toward others rather than just ourselves.
Haha, that was me at age 45. I competed in both World Championships & Oceania's for Roller Skating. OK, the World Championships was a group event & I was the oldest person Australia had competing. I had both my children competing alongside me.

Together Hubby & I competed one grade below international division doing a dance event. For those who remember, similar to Torville & Dean, but on Roller Skates. He would lift me up & turn me around etc, all to music. Loads of fun! Many of the kids that we skated with were in awe & regularly asked if I was scared. Hell no! Heaps of fun, & so what if we had the occasional stack.

Then the next year I started having problems. Diagnosed with Osteoarthritis! I had to give up skating & watch while Hubby continued without me. Gee that was hard.

It's amazing how quickly it hits you. At 45, I felt like I was still in my 20's. Nothing could hold me down. I was the poster girl, cheering on all the other over 40's skaters who only ever mastered the very basic levels. Telling them all the time, that all they had to do was believe in themselves, & if I could do it (relatively easy moves) so could they.

I quickly realised how older people fear learning new things for fear of falling, as I have quickly progressed to that myself. I can't skate anymore, as I'm in pain all the time. I can't go for a walk (well, not for any distance), I can't bend to do up my shoe. Going up & down stairs is a feat in itself & I need to rely on the railings & hobble along while not straining my left side. I am scared of walking on uneven surfaces. In short, I feel OLD. I'm 52.

I'm on the waiting list for a hip replacement, so I'm hoping I'll get back a lot of the movement that I've lost. I miss not being able to skate, but I won't go back to competing again. Just being able to put them on & skate socially would be great. I've been told by my specialist that I have to avoid extreme sports from now on & apparently figure skating is an extreme sport.

This is another on of those lets-you-sleep-at-night-myths. My grandmother is 90, has done practically nothing except sit around and read the bible the past 40 years at least and she is still alive.

Then you see someone like Steve Jobs, all the money in the world, clearly an active person a "go getter" if you will. Dead at 56. So many more examples like this too.

Which part of my post is a myth? :confused:

Not everyone who is active will live a perfectly healthy and long life, and not everyone who is inactive will be unfit and unhealthy, I think that goes without saying... There are exceptions but keeping fit and active improves your mental and physical health, I struggle to see how that is a myth?

Dustin Fletcher is a good example of what you can do when you look after yourself, of course his genetics would also play a part in this.

Great attitude but totally unrealistic. Reality is he will likely croak any day now from any number of malady's that afflict the elderly. Good lifestyle or not.

Don't understand why you're putting your kid in childcare??? Life might be too short. Eventually they will die anyway.

pinkboy

I'm early 40's and starting to get grey hairs :(
Can anyone recommend something for this? I'm thinking about shaving my head with a #2 clippers to keep it short so it's not so noticeable but don't want to look like a thug. Now I also trim my nose hairs every few weeks :(

Can anyone recommend something for this? I'm thinking about shaving my head with a #2 clippers to keep it short so it's not so noticeable. Now I also trim my nose hairs every few weeks :(

I always shave my head with #0 at home. Mainly it's cheap and don't have to spend time combing my hair :D

Yes I think I'll buy some clippers so the little lady can cut my hair for me.
The good news is I have all my hair and my body looks good after going to the gym and swimming a lot. I will post a photo of my body later if there is any demand for it.

You will know that you are old when it takes you all night to do what you used to do all night lol

Get plenty of cardio vascular and weight bearing exercises. diet, see the doc....well you know the drill

i feel a lot older than what i am because im one of the youngest at work constantly surrounded by old men. cant wait for the day i can surf everyday

So, I'm 33 years young and like all of us never though I'd get old. I was going to buck the trend cause of my slim, muscular physique and excercise. Right? God I look good and everybody knows it

Now I have a sore back everyday. Sore bits n pieces coming and going when they cop a little bit of use. Sore knuckles from lifes use, I've nicknamed myself "Muffin-top Man" which seems to inflate should I dare to eat anything. I make old people noises when standing from a sit. Drink coffee. Have a receding hairline that prohibits any form of hair-do and general good looks. I could go on but lets just stop there shall we

I'm finding that many of my values are being forced to change. Maybe thats why we get old, so that we're geared toward others rather than just ourselves.

I consider my peak (physical) to be right at your age now. 33.

And I still reckon I look good...for my age...51, no muffins here!

Im only just beginning to get the symptoms you have now, only on a regular basis...unless of course I keep "in practice". When back on the tools regularly I feel young again.

Then again, I have been a thrill seeker and gone the extra yards all my life and somehow avoided any serious injuries apart from a couple severe head hits in my mid 40's which I think pulled me into line as far as "going the extra" bit is concerned.:cool:

Can anyone recommend something for this? I'm thinking about shaving my head with a #2 clippers to keep it short so it's not so noticeable but don't want to look like a thug. Now I also trim my nose hairs every few weeks :(
Heh haa haa, fabulous!
I did exactly the same at same age.
I now shave completely and have a beautiful head !
Love the beanies, however bogan they may look !:p

You got to keep active, I think that's one of the 'secrets' of life.

Yep, absolutely spot on !!!

Nah, bad attitude....that will do the trick every time.

Whats wrong with some hope and determination? :rolleyes:

Pink man.. You're making me a bit sad now. "not into any spiritual BS" please tell me, what else is worth apinch of salt in life is there? Your whole (world for the smaller minded) Universe is spiritual. Don't feel it? If not. I feel for you am willing to talk by PM. Only too happy to bro. Please dont take offence, I just find this difficult to comprehend. Mayve you've just had a bad day? I have some stuff that might make you look differently at life. Which I can tell you is really cool :)

Blah Blah Blah - tell us what you really think? - and yes I saw that!

In no way am I deluded into thinking what lifestyle I choose to live will make me live longer.

My point is, why would you want to feel f%$#ed from age 33 to 8X something when you can instead make a choice to feel good and preserve yourself for a greater time. Im not into any spiritual BS, but making a few good choices puts you miles ahead of the general population, much like investing.

For me, by age 33 I want to be 'financially secure', and I will have health on my side for a long time living life to the full....or I could be hit by a bus tomorrow on my ride, but the main thing is, I wont go with any regrets or anything on my mind or anything on others mind, because I have the balls to tell it how it is.

pinkboy

pinkboy

Yea righto Dex. I'll be seein you for real in Cambodia in a few months time so don't lie :d we'll see who's hotter
Yes I think I'll buy some clippers so the little lady can cut my hair for me.
The good news is I have all my hair and my body looks good after going to the gym and swimming a lot. I will post a photo of my body later if there is any demand for it.