Strategy

I’ve started a new thread in response to Lily House’s request from the ACA thread. Lily’s asked if I’d share my strategy. So here it is: Firstly, a little bit about myself. I’m a newbie to the forum. I’m 33, employed full-time, moved to Melb from Syd 5 and a half years ago to be with my partner. My ambition since being in my early 20’s was to retire early with a portfolio of properties. Whilst I was in my 20’s, dreaming about such a thing, it wasn’t until my 30’s that I really decided to do something about it. So where am I now.

- I have one Melb, South Eastern, 3bdrm property (currently owner-occupied) in the process of being on the rental market.
- Settlement pending on another Melb, South Eastern, 3bdrm property for owner-occupier with my partner. (settlement is 3 days away).
- My partner has an unencumbered, very large block with a 2 bdrm cottage also in the South East of Melb. Parents are living in this one.

Our Aim
- For both of us to be out of the workforce and not rely on employers income. (just like everybody else)
- To be financially free
- To have properties around the world
- To be successful
- To go where-ever we want to go without 2nd thoughts

Our Adventure
Firstly we ‘brainstormed’ for a couple of years what we wanted for our future. I always knew, for me, property was going to be the stepping stone to my financial freedom. My partner was more interested in shares. So we needed to overcome these differences by investigating both areas. Over time, the tables turned, my partner became interested in property and I became interested in shares. So we’ve concluded that both property and shares will play contributing factors to our future success. Because we already have invested interests in property and most of our studying has been in this area, we’ve decided for property to be our vehicle for the time being and will introduce shares later.

Our Strategy