Structuring a new business - How to?

Structuring a new business.

Hi all, just wondering if anyone on here is savvy when it comes to small business structures?

When the time comes, I'll be happy to sit down formally (i.e. commercially) with someone to set it all up correctly and will need an accountant too, (any recommendations?) but its early days at the moment so just trying to educate myself a little

Without giving too much away, (in case anyone at work sees this), I am a consultant of sorts. My current employer is awarded a contract to produce a set of documents, once the contract is awarded I produce the documents based on information provided from third party consultants and deliver a package to our client for the agreed project price.

My friend and colleague is the same, and together we are currently number 1 & 2 in our organization, delegating work to other employees and project managing each job.

Our 'boss' doesn't do a great deal, contracts are awarded to us based on the quality of work myself and colleague have consistently produced over the years. I deal direct with my clients. In my industry, clients follow individual employees rather than sticking loyally to a particular company. My employer essentially just does the invoicing and pays the office bills. I tender the projects and run them from start to finish.

My "boss" is looking to retire soon and often talks about when the time comes myself and colleague buying the business from him. This is where it gets interesting, as there is no way either of us would be interested as we'd essentially be buying ourselves if that makes sense? The rest of our staff are 'workers' as such, in in some cases are more of a liability to the company than a bonus. The company has very little in the way of assets. We have both said for a few years now that once he decides to sell we'd be going out on our own as sole traders, we would not buy it and there is no market for others to buy it.