Structuring finance for first property

Hi all, been reading the forum for several months now and trying to soak up as much information as possible.

I'm hoping to get some opinions on how to best structure the finance for our first property with a view to the future. A bit of background -

My partner and I graduated from uni at the end of last year, saved a bit of money towards a deposit ($18k). We've both recently started graduate jobs (engineering) and have a combined income of $120k with 6 months probation. We currently live at home, only debt is car finance at $80 p/w and we are currently saving ~ $1000 p/w towards our deposit.

Our current plan is to purchase an apartment up to ~6km from the CBD (Brisbane) to live in for approximately 2 years. We're wanting to go interest only with an offset account paying the interest and putting the remainder of the ~$1000 p/w into the offset.

We're open to 1 or 2 brm apartments, ideally under 350k but could go over for the right property. Also comfortable with somewhere slightly cheaper that we could add value to through superficial renovations (tradies in the family).

My parents are willing to go guarantor on the loan, so we're hoping to get away with as small a deposit as possible (5%) and put the remainder of our savings straight into the offset account. By the time our probation is up and we're able to apply for loans, we will have approximately $40,000 saved.

After the initial 2 year period (or sooner depending on career progression) we would like to use the money in the offset account as a deposit towards a second property that will become our PPOR and renting out our initial apartment. My understanding is that by not paying down the loan on the first property, we're maximising the tax deductibility of the interest on the loan once it becomes an investment?