Subdividing / Developing Dual Occupancies

W

WebBoard

I'm currently considering an option to subdivide a property in E Suburbs of Melbourne in order to build a unit in the rear and keep the existing 3BR house at the front. The existing house is further to the front than any others in the street, so there is plenty of room to do this.

The big problem is that as I have never done this before, I have absolutely no idea of how to go about it. What I do know is that it will require planning approval from the local council but I have no idea as yet as to how to go about the process of what is involved in applying to the council for approval. i.e. What work has to be done to get an application to the council etc? Do you generally have plans for the proposed new building when applying for the approval to subdivide?

Surely there must be some people out there in forum land who have done this before and can give me a few tips as to what to do and where to look for further information.

I guess beyond the planning approval stage, I would be looking for a good builder. Any recommendations of someone reliable in SE Melb would be appreciated.

-Andrew

Last edited by a moderator:
Reply: 1

most councils in melboune go by "the good design guide" you can get a copy of this from most councils. This details how much space is required per dwelling - all the requirements etc

unfortunately this is just a guide - each council will tell you that they judge each submission on it's merits - which means you need to have the plans drawn and submitted to get the go ahead.

my guess is that providing you adhere to the guide and there are not 100 flats/units already on the street then you'll be ok

William Blake

Reply: 2