Subject to finance clause

Big noob here. Can someone please explain to me what subject to finance clause is. Is this the pre-approval from the bank that says you can borrow X amount depending on the valuation of the property.

Extremely confused!

Hiya

Basically, it is to allow you to get FULL or unconditional approval which includes some things over and above pre approval. Things like valuation and mortgage insurance are good examples

ta
rolf

why dont they give you the valuation? CBA didnt give me anything.. its like it was a secret.

The valuation is paid by the CBA and is simply to help the CBA make a decision whether to approve (the mortgage).

Via your due diligence, in theory, you are supposed to know what the asset is worth that you have just offered to buy.

If you wish to have the valuation addressed to you, then hire the valuer yourself, preferably before you make an offer.

It's not normal business practice for one party to a contract (the mortgage) to pay for market knowledge and then simply hand it over to the opposing party in the contract for free.

Have you been involved with contracts before ?

Most lenders will happily tell you what the valuation is returned at - I've never had a lender not pass the information onto me verbally, but very few will give you a copy of the written valuation.

The notable exception is the ANZ (if you go through a broker, the broker manages the valuation process, thus receiving a copy). Quite a few mortgage managers will also hand over a copy of the val, but none of the other major banks will.

As stated, lenders order valuations for their own due dilligence on the property, not yours :( They'd probably agree that in most cases it doesn't hurt their interests to allow you to have a copy, but occassionally it might not be to their benefit. As a result they simply make it a policy not to give them out.