Superannuation/ IP Question

Hi,
I have an amount of money invested in a Superannuation rollover fund.
It is understood that I can only access this money at age 65 or at age 55 if not employed full-time.
At present, I am a full-time employee.
I am told it is possible to gain early access to these funds if they are to be re-invested in an Investment Property.
Can anyone confirm if this is correct, and, if so, any further info would be much appreciated.
Many thanks,
Will

I'm no expert.

But I guess that you could put the funds into a property.

IF:
.You set up your own Self Managed Superannuation Fund (SMSF)
.You were in a position to roll over those funds into the SMSF (many people, especially public servants, are not)
.You could but a property outright with those funds- ie, YOU CANNOT BORROW! (That's the killer- you cannot use the power of leveraging.

I have my own SMSF. I use some of that for learning about the stock market, and I'm intending on using some of that now to put into Steve Navra's fund.

SMSF and IP

I've actually done this. I created a SMSF for myself and my husband (You must have 2 members and 2 trustees otheriwise you will need to have a corporate trustee). Also, if you are an employeee, you cannot do it with a current superfund but this is ideal for funds from jobs you have left and just left the money in their funds (and not rolled it over to your current fund).

here's what we did with our fund (total amount in fund was $62K)

We bought a gorgeous 1870s house on 1/2 acre in a small country town in NSW about 1.5 hours from Canberra. we are currently renovating it.

I basically set up the fund over the internet. Check out the ATO site, it helped a lot.

SMSF Cost/benefits so far:

$25 to set up SMSF (yes, $25, but free in NSW. This was for registering the deed in the ACT), $45K for house, about $250 for conveyance (disbursements). (I can't remember exactly how much cos I did it myself),

$647 stamp duty (shock *gasp*).