Swimming pool cleaning

Hi all

I have just purchased an IP with swimming pool. Unfortunately, the swimming pool has a thick layer of dirt and leaves at the bottom.

I am totally new to pool maintenance.

Though there is an electricity filter pump, I do not know if I can use the filter pump to clean the pool. I tried to run the pump for 1 hour but it did not much help.

Should I ask for a professional pool cleaner's help or use the water filter pump?

Any suggestions?

Photo of the pump
791328451_0c0141d3b3.jpg

Last edited:
Hi all

I have just purchased an IP with swimming pool. Unfortunately, the swimming pool has a thick layer of dirt and leaves at the bottom.

I am totally new to pool maintenance.

Though there is an electricity filter pump, I do not know if I can use the filter pump to clean the pool. I tried to run the pump for 1 hour but it did not much help.

Should I ask for a professional pool cleaner's help or use the water filter pump?

Any suggestions?

Photo of the pump
791328451_0c0141d3b3.jpg

Does the pump have a timer? Is it set to run at a particular time? Is it a saltwater pool? When were chemicals last added? The pump should be running for 4-6 hours per day maybe less in Melbourne.
Take a water sample to a pool shop and go from there, your creepy crawly/Barracuda should be able to clean the bottom if it runs for several hours each day. You might need a pole and net to assist in removing leaves etc
Dont leave it as it will get worse by the sounds of it