Sydney the magnificent, revel in her glory...

Following on from this thread of mine:

Sydney market dead... NOT!

I felt the need for a new thread with a new link and a new opportunity to revel in the glory of the harbour city in all her brilliance. Its not until I moved to Brisbane that I came to realise just how singularly brilliant Sydney is for all her over-crowded, under-resourced foibles. Here's a nice article in the SMH today which once again captures the essence of Sydney far more eloquently than I could.

NSW, the hottest premier state... and the weather's not bad either

smh said:
Instead, today at Clovelly snorklers will seek groper and pampered pooches will scare them off. Craig Wing might run past in shorts, as he did last weekend, leaving other men reaching for their T-shirts. On the harbour, the bloke in a tinnie will pull up at Milk Beach and sell ice-creams to those who forgot to bring their own. At Victoria Park pool in Camperdown, my earnest determination to swim a kilometre will again give way to a compromised half.

Ah, summer, you're back. We've missed you. You're the reason many move here only for a bit, and never leave. Yet even with a summer like Sydney's, it's still only ninth on Mercer's list of most liveable cities. If that's an accurate and justified ranking, liveability can go jump.

And if you're the type of person that prefers hard stats over soft prose, then this little addition, albeit dated, suggests the most affluent amongst us all choose to make Sydney their home:

Times were good, but even better in Mosman

smh said:
At June 2007, Mosman was the country's highest earning suburb, with the average wage-earner taking home some $106,400. Three years earlier, the average income for a Mosman resident was $82,000 - a 30 per cent rise in three years.

Woollahra was the country's second-highest earning local area in 2007, with residents reporting an average income of $85,200. That was an increase of almost $20,000, more than 20 per cent above the average income of $66,600 reported three years earlier. The country's third highest earning area was Hunters Hill, where average incomes rose from $64,300 to $77,800 in the period, also more than 20 per cent.

*edit*

Sydney suburbs dominated the list of the nation's top 10 earners in 2007, taking nine out of 10 spots. Leichhardt, with an average salary of $68,703, was the only one not located on the north shore or eastern suburbs.

Spectacular Sydney, we appluad you and laud you. Thank You for standing pinacle and preserving the quintessential essence of all things brilliant that Australia represents as our face to the world. May you reign supreme forever in undiminished brilliance, a bastion of hope and enduring promise of what life should be.

We love you.

;)

shucks michael - we've got all that in newcastle, without the overcrowding and underresoucing ... and all within 20mins drive.

oh - and if we ever wanted to "go" to sydney then it's only a 2hour road or train day trip.

shucks michael - we've got all that in newcastle, without the overcrowding and underresoucing ... and all within 20mins drive.

oh - and if we ever wanted to "go" to sydney then it's only a 2hour road or train day trip.
Hi Lizzie,

I agree! But then again, I consider Newcastle to be part of Greater Sydney... :eek: ;)

I love Newcastle too, just missing the harbour bit and all that this has to offer.

And, as a side note for discussion, does everybody else have a sense that Sydney is finally waking up from her slumber? I know its mostly an emotive intuitive response, but I genuinely sense that Sydney is now putting the GFC behind her and shaking off her morose and is now stepping boldly forward again to reclaim her mantle. I genuinely feel this way and can't wait to see what the next 5 years holds for Sydney, its shaping up to be very exciting.

Must admit I agree in part...we took the new boat down to the big smoke last month and decided to 'do' the harbour...put in at Killarney Heights at 7.30am and headed downstream slowly till we hit the main channel and Middle Head....crossed over to Watsons bay and the famous Doyles restaurant etc...took mental note to return here for lunch if possible...

proceeded to follow the southern side of the harbour round Rose Bay...Double bay and then into Farm Cove....hang on...are we allowed in here..? No one else here in a boat...Maritime boat sitting in front of Opera House not showing any objections to our movements so on we go and pass the Opera House almost able to touch it....WOW...this is great...!

Come out and Whoa...the Bridge is sitting above us in all it's glory and no one but us and a fast approaching Manly ferry and we are blocking the entrance to the Quay....revs please captn....vroooom under the coathanger and hug the old storesheds and why don't we have a peek at Darling Harbour....yep....approached and thought surely we won't be allowed in there.....but kept going and no further objections so bugger it...I'm gonna pull up right in the middle of Sydney and step off and have a good look around.....whoops...gotta pay $25 for 4hrs parking the boat...not bad we thought and got away with..." look Mate, I'm from the bush and got no idea about all this stuff, I just need a pee and I'll be on my way...that alright..?"...no worries Sir...you will know next time and please do come back...."we will for sure Mate and bring the family too...thanks!"

Outta there and back into the Harbour proper and sticking to the south bank up to the Glebe bridge then decide to turn around and head back along the north side.....pulled into Luna Park for a quick look and back under the big bridge...rounded kirribilly point and gave Kev a wave....neutral Bay...then Taronga Zoo wharf...onto Middle head and it's time to cross back over to Watsons Bay for lunch....hang on...it's only 11.00am and we've seen the harbour proper at a snails pace...!

Pulled into watsons Bay...run her up on the beach right infront of the Doyles Restaurant and chucked out the anchor.....bypassed the restaurant after a look at the menu and headed over to the Doyles Fish & Chips shop...lol....

Nice though, enjoyed a Crownie for only $5 with the F & Chips...! Cool!

11.30am and two ferries arrive with a big mob of tourists jabbering away in different lingos and we decide to do the right thing and let them have it....many stop by the wharf and watch as we push off the sand and cruise away in our little 16 footer runabout....

Back across the main channell and it's now really busy on the water and chopping up quite a bit so back into Middle Harbour and just at the back of Manly we decide ity's too early to be going home...stop for a swim as it's getting hot and this little bay fronts bushland and is deserted....bliss...noticed Balmoral Beach and it's wonderful old clubhouse on the other side of where we are.....unbelievable...!

Finally decide we'd poke on back up under the Spit bridge and further to the boat ramp and call it a day considering we'd dragged it out to 2.00pm

Sorry to bore anyone but this was an amazing day for us country folks and as our reccie trip, I reckon it will be hard to top, but we are going to do it again and again this summer......I do relate to Michaels sentiments except that I reckon Syd is a bloke....:D

Merry Christmas Folks!:)

11.30am and two ferries arrive with a big mob of tourists jabbering away in different lingos and we decide to do the right thing and let them have it....!:)

Gee's, that's a bit tough..!! So ya let em have it?? Just cause your from the bush and all don't mean you can do that stuff. Abused em did ya? And so what if they were talking goobledegook, they were just tourists having a look...??..??......Or.....#$%&..

Oh I see, ya just moved on..OK.

Whoa for sure...
Whoa...the Bridge is sitting above us in all it's glory

shbrge.jpg

I love Sydney too:

sydnight.jpg

Gee's, that's a bit tough..!! So ya let em have it?? Just cause your from the bush and all don't mean you can do that stuff. Abused em did ya? And so what if they were talking goobledegook, they were just tourists having a look...??..??......Or.....#$%&..

Oh I see, ya just moved on..OK.

Ahh...hmmmm.....?
..not sure what you're on about TC...I meant it in the nicest way..yes we just moved on and let the tourists have the place without us in their way....to be more specific....
I am not into abusing tourists either...but I'll abuse you if you don't watch out.

Your 'take' on what I have said is way off the mark...OK

nice place for a holiday but it's a bit difficult to see its relevance in the post GFC world?

its the financial capital of Australia, and Australia is a gateway to Asia, having a well educated (at least for now) native English speaking population which is attractive to foreign companies looking to expand to the region.

Oh yes, i love Sydney so much im running away!

I ventured out to the city for the first time in a while, just loved the pushy rude people, and overcrowded streets, it was awesome!

Just got back from Melbourne, left to fend for myself the majority of the time, even the one time i went into the city by train, and tram during peek hour, i wasn't thrown into the person next to me by people trying to get out as quick as they could or shoved out of the doors, that just sucked didn't it..:rolleyes:

Ah got to love Sydney..........

Just got back from Melbourne, left to fend for myself the majority of the time, even the one time i went into the city by train, and tram during peek hour, i wasn't thrown into the person next to me by people trying to get out as quick as they could or shoved out of the doors, that just sucked didn't it..:rolleyes:

Ah got to love Sydney..........

Hmmm gotta agree with lil skater... I am a "brisbaneite" and I HATED my 18 month stint in Sydney...everybody in a hurry to get no where!! CHILL people...
If you REALLLY need to be there NOW...leave 15 mins earlier!!!......
you do the same trip evry day ..you know how long it takes...

Hmmm gotta agree with lil skater... I am a "brisbaneite" and I HATED my 18 month stint in Sydney...everybody in a hurry to get no where!! CHILL people...
If you REALLLY need to be there NOW...leave 15 mins earlier!!!......
you do the same trip evry day ..you know how long it takes...

Lol!

I know! Even when it's not peek hour people are still pushing and shoving to get where they want to be 5 mins earlier!

surely this thread is a set up, a case of taking the p...

as the old classic saying, face the facts Melbourne is the no. 1 city for property, living and quality of life.

Sydney has been bypassed long ago as an Aussie icon as there are many other beautiful cities to visit. After you've seen the lovely harbour sites and some beaches, there leaves nothing to do, nothing more to see apart from car jammed roads and sharing streets with masses of the some of the most obnoxious people in the world - this thread just sums it all up.

zero events to be inspired by or want to attend (Brian Eno LOL!)
a state government in constant turmoil (who's your new Premier this month?)
budget deficits of massive magnitudes (billions down he drain)
instead of a night life, just massive leagues clubs full of yobbo drunks and pokie machines (it's my shout) or a cheap skate casino (below par city)
a climate drenched in pollution and humidity
sports clubs or codes of minimal interest (thugby!)
a fashion less population (where to buy a new pair of thongs)
a once great city that has gone to the dogs in the last decade.

MPmelb

Actually Michael wanted to tell us how much he misses his home city.

Where did you get your info that Melbourne is No 1?
Sydney will always be No 1 in our hearts.
There is no other city like ours and even Lil Skater will agree with me when she moves closer to the cbd.

I was in Melbourne recently and let me tell you, I couldn't wait to get back. Where do I start? from the Melbourne water which is not drinkable, (had to drink Cascade instead :p) the expensive food or the crappy weather?

And regarding traffic, wait till you get 1 million extra people living in Melbourne and then we'll talk. You've already got a problem NOW...(I wasn't impressed when I was stuck on one of your motorways on a saturday and almost missed my flight).

I don't want to turn this into a comparison between Sydney and Melbourne because cities of not equal size and weather are not comparable but here is something for you.
http://www.tntdownunder.com/article/2463340845.html

Yes, to be fair, I love Melbourne too.

docklands09.jpg

docklands_night.jpg

And then there is the bush.....:):D

What's not to love about Australia. It is this infatuation, best friend and breathtaking beauty all in one.

At least this thread is not another "which side of the river in Brisbane is best" thread :D:D.

hehehe That's because north is best!! :p:cool:
Same as the Sunny Coast is better than the Gold Coast!!
(Runs and ducks for cover waiting for the retorts!!)