Tall Poppy Syndrome

I read this interesting article on tall poppy sydrome - was wondering if anybody else experiences this with family and friends. my husband and i have definitely found that this is a problem in our relationships and have stopped discussing property purchases and so on.

an interesting read if you've ever felt like your friends aren't happy for your successes:

http://www.realestate.com.au/review/apr072/tall_poppy.html?from=review

Are you reluctant to talk about property investing with friends and family? If so, you're not alone.

Welcome to Australia – land of the tall poppy syndrome. Don’t we just love to applaud Aussies who’ve become rich or famous… that is, provided they have the right amount of modesty. And you can never have too much modesty, it would seem.

So how does a successful property investor fit into a society which worships the idea of being ‘down to earth’? Jan Somers and Margaret Lomas are both property authors as well as highly successful investors. Here they share some ideas about managing tall poppy syndrome.

The dilemma
Friendships are integral in Australian society, Lomas says. People often build their lifestyles around their friendships. So it’s important to realise that your property investing does have the potential to threaten some friendships. Unfortunately, Lomas has seen it happen to a number of her clients.

“I find that, especially when everyday battlers do really well with property, their friends start to see them a little bit differently. My favourite expression is that ‘in Australia people like you to get ahead, as long as it’s not ahead of them.’

“It’s almost one of those things that keep people back from achieving as much as they possibly could. They’re worried about what their friends may think,” Lomas says.

So how can you be successful and keep your friends?

1. Getting your friends involved

Lomas suggests that you could try to get your friends involved in property investing right from the start.

“Motivate them before you become successful. Get them committed to and sold on the idea themselves and do it as a group,” she suggests.

2. The hush-hush approach

Another option is to keep quiet about your achievements.

“Some of my clients don’t even tell their friends what they’ve achieved,” Lomas says. “That’s very sad, that you can’t talk about success because then people do think that you’re boasting or bragging… And we often hear the expression, ‘Oh they think they’re too good for us now’.”
While Lomas feels it’s a shame for people to play down their success, Somers is more accepting of it.

“That’s just life,” she says. “It’s just a social skill. You don’t want to intimidate people. You don’t want to make them feel uncomfortable.”
Somers knows this from personal experience.

“When we started to invest in the ’70s,” she recalls, “I thought it was such a great idea, I used to tell everyone.

“It probably took 10 years or so to realise it felt like I was selling Amway. The response was sometimes a bit cool.”

People would often infer that Somers’ success had been thanks to good luck, or good timing, rather than any hard work or effort. They’d explain away their own inaction by saying: “Weren’t you lucky you bought when things were cheap?”

Somers would respond, “Well, you can do it too,” and she’d see them back pedaling, “as though I was trying to sell them a concept.”

In time, Somers grew tired of what she calls a cross between tall poppy syndrome and Amway syndrome.

“I take a reverse view now. I don’t talk about property at all.

“I suppose I’ve become older and wiser and now I can see people are just different. They just don’t want to do it and they don’t want to talk about it. And they don’t want to feel intimidated by it.”

Somers still jumps at the chance to help someone with a specific enquiry about property investing. She’s just extremely unlikely to be the one to bring up property in a social situation.

“I think there’s only a tall poppy syndrome if you’re there talking about it, and you’re flaunting your wealth. If you flaunt it then you’re going to get knocked down,” she suggests.

“If you turn up at Woolies, like I do, in thongs and shorts, there’s no tall poppy syndrome at all.”

She concedes, “There is a tall poppy syndrome where some people will unjustly be dragged down. But in most cases it’s probably self-inflicted.”

3. Being selectively quiet

A small number of your friends might be excited about property. So it can’t hurt to ‘test the waters’. When you come across someone who’s into property, it’s usually pretty obvious. They’ll want to hear all about your investing strategy and they’ll be happy to reciprocate with details of their properties, and their future plans.

Of course, there will always be people who aren’t interested in property. And there’ll always be people who are insecure about your success. If you value your friendships with these people, you might have to accept that you’re better off not to mention investing around them.

4. Seeking out like-minded people

If your friends and family just aren’t interested, why not seek out new people?

“We truly have a lot of success when we’re motivated and supported by people who think like we do,” Lomas says.

Some investment advisory companies have property focus groups where clients can get together and talk freely about their investments. It’s a great way to stay motivated and to learn from other people’s experiences. And you’re likely to find plenty of people who are happy to celebrate your successes with you.

You can also meet other property investors by attending seminars. (If you’re not sure about the presenter’s reputation, search the internet and see what you can find out about their background).

Alternatively, if you already know of one or two like-minded people, you can always set up your own interest group. One investor we profiled in API a couple of years ago did this very successfully. Before he knew it, tea and bickies at a mate’s place turned into a big scale affair with guest speakers at a local community hall.

5. The ‘who cares?’ approach

You’ve done well with your investments and you want to spoil yourself with a better lifestyle. A new home, car or boat. Perhaps a new school for the kids. At this point, a visible gap might open up between you and your friends. Tall poppy syndrome might kick in.

Let’s assume you’re not carrying on like an egotistical jerk, and therefore the tall poppy syndrome is unwarranted. You’ve worked hard and now you’re reaping the rewards. Should you really care about the opinions of people who’d prefer you to be less successful, because that would suit them better?

Lomas jokes, “I think (investors) should say, ‘I couldn’t care less what anybody thinks. Because I would rather be old with fewer friends, than old (and) poor with lots of friends’.”

Lomas doesn’t mince her words, but she makes a reasonable point. Sometimes it’s probably worth asking whether it’s worth continuing a friendship with someone who can’t be happy for you when you do well.

Life’s easier if you can be authentic in your dealings with other people. If property is a big part of your life, it’s hard to constantly hide that. And it’s also hard to hide the fact you’ve accumulated significant wealth.

Arguably, you’re doing no-one a favour if you keep hiding your success from others. In the oft-quoted words of author Marianne Williamson: “Your playing small doesn’t serve the world. There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you… And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.”

A word on families
In an ideal world, your family would be thrilled to hear about your capital growth and your increased rental yield. But in reality, a lot of the discussion in this article about friendships applies equally to family members. Some will be supportive, but you can’t expect everyone to be.

Somers says she’s even less likely to talk about property with her family than she is with friends.

“I just don’t bring it up at all,” she says. “It’s just not something I feel as though I want to impose on people.”

Somers also feels there’s no need to tell people – even family members – how many properties she and her husband own.

“It’s enough,” is the answer she gives if asked.

“They’re aware of how well you’ve done and there’s no need to rub their noses in it,” she believes.

Of course, like anything, it’s about assessing the relationship you have with a particular family member before deciding how open you can be. So long as you’re careful who you talk to, and even then you try to keep your ego in check, you can’t go too far wrong.

5. The ‘who cares?’ approach

You’ve done well with your investments and you want to spoil yourself with a better lifestyle. A new home, car or boat. Perhaps a new school for the kids. At this point, a visible gap might open up between you and your friends. Tall poppy syndrome might kick in.

I won't worry too much about this.

It seems that these days, every Tom, Dick and Harry is buying a new house, new car, new etc, private school their kids, most likely on credit. So they may not even suspect that you are doing well. They would just think that you are keeping up with the Joneses.

I wonder if the TPS is confined to Australia? I would be interested to hear the experiences from posters abroad.

I haven't really experienced it yet, but that's because I've been purposely quiet about it.

Although I believe a large part of the tall poppy syndrome has to do with a lack of knowledge/education on the other people's behalf. ie. They don't realise how they can do it themselves, or think it's too hard - so don't want to be reminded of it.

I gave a copy of Jan's book "More Wealth..." to friends of mine - a young married couple with their own house - and I asked them later what they thought, and they said sounds really good, but never heard about it from them again. Instead, they've talked about saving up for the Europe trip they want to take in a year or so from now. I guess like they say: "You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make him drink!"

Steve

Very true words steve, I gave one of my closest friends a copy of the richest man in babylon to have a look at and she gave it back to me a couple of weeks later and said she "doesn't get it"......

Can lead a horse to water etc etc

sigh

There was a thread about this just before Christmas, but more along the lines of people not talking about their success with their family.

“I find that, especially when everyday battlers do really well with property, their friends start to see them a little bit differently. My favourite expression is that ‘in Australia people like you to get ahead, as long as it’s not ahead of them.’

The variation I'd put on this quote is, ‘in Australia people like you to get ahead, as long as they don't know you personally.’

I have learned over the past thirteen years that people really do not want to know of your success. In the past we used to try and tell friends that they could do exactly what we were doing with investment property and that it was easy etc. etc. but now we just keep our mouth shut as it really does no good and it creates jealousy. We went to the trouble of explaining everything to several people and giving them Jan's books to read but it only created a gap between us and them so have since decided to be QUIET because it just doesn't matter if they get it or not, WE get it and that is all that really matters. I think most Australians still have a hang up about discussing financial matters and investment strategies ( probably because many do not have any strategies or investments!!) We have become quiet achievers and find life much calmer!! In the end you invest for your own benefit and whether others like it or not really does not matter.

My favourite expression is that ‘in Australia people like you to get ahead, as long as it’s not ahead of them.’

This is the bit that I related to the most.

We were fully encouraged and patted on the head and bum when just starting out on our journey by all and sundry.

When we rivalled our teachers / family / peers, the encouragement stopped and the snide nastiness started, especially amongst the women folk. There was an uneasiness at gatherings for a few years there, until we switched tactics.

Nowadays they all don't even bother competing any more, and funnily enough the nice relationships have returned. We still talk about the residential side of things, but no-one ever wants to start a convo about industrial or comm. stuff, so we just stick to talking about houses. Having not bought one for so long, and never doing any research in that area, the conversations are a bit clipped cos we don't have much to add anymore. But it's nice when you aren't competing anymore. They usually just shake their heads in disbelief and start another topic. We are both used to it nowadays, although the wife is far better at hiding the "thing" than I. Go geoff, should ahve a field day with that one.

Life’s easier if you can be authentic in your dealings with other people. If property is a big part of your life, it’s hard to constantly hide that. And it’s also hard to hide the fact you’ve accumulated significant wealth.

Absolutely, I find it extremely difficult to have a normal "footy and car" conversation with the blokes when I ignore both subjects with a passion. When someone says around a BBQ gathering "I spent 5 or 6 hours last Saturday with my feet up in front of the TV watching the Eagles"....and everyone says "yeah goodonya - so did I"...."what about you Dazza" ??

You'd sound like a complete tosser if you said "Yeah I spent 5 or 6 hours on Saturday driving around the back blocks of the industrial estates looking for a undervalued bargain"....WTF....but it'd be the truth, so you end up lying or coming up with some boring non-descript auto-cue reply that everyone ignores anyway.

It honestly feels like you are dragging this enormous great deadweight unspoken "thing" around with you all the time....a good and happy "thing" no doubt, but a socially unacceptable taboo "thing" that cannot be shared. It gets frustrating after a while.

Sometimes your guard comes down, especially when some worm pipes up at a dinner party or whatever, about how courageous and smart they are, then launch into a story about how her monstrous big $ 5,000 share deal came off and she tripled her money in just one month :rolleyes: ..... and cracks appear in the hidden dam wall, and sometimes a little bit spills out. :)

Anyway....go all the poppies I say, even the weeds !!!

Think my family is pretty cool about it, since it was part of Dad's influence in the first place. After he retired from his job at the firm, he decided to have a go at selling RE part-time with some of his mates. What got the ball rolling though were my colleagues talking about purchasing an IP not so long ago.

I'm trying to find like-minded people, haven't any luck so far. A mate of mine was talking about buying a place last year, when I still haven't a clue of property investment. I spoke to him again just last month with enthusiasm and he seemed to give me the cold shoulder. Oh well, last I heard he's gone to shares. Anyone ever experienced people who are keen on property as well but just don't want to share?

If people ask me about property I'll answer as best I can, but I've also found that most people won't understand. It's hard enough to find people who invest, much less people who invest in property. I get so tired of people telling me 'Well, it's because you bought when prices were low!' and telling me how lucky I am. Don't get me wrong, finding a friend who also invests is a great thing, because investing is a pretty lonely activity, but still......

I'd suggest going to the BIG meetings to find like-minded investors.

Tall Poppy Syndrome = jealousy.

When you can trully be happy for someone else's success, then you know you are on your way to your own success.

Reactions: Les
Tall Poppy Syndrome = jealousy.

When you can trully be happy for someone else's success, then you know you are on your way to your own success.

Thats true Mofra. I like your explanation. I find it inspiring to read of people's successes with their investments - especially on the forum here. It makes me want to keep going forward, and think of extra ways to improve my progress.

I find it difficult - like many others here to share my investment journey with my family. My parents are very religious, and have openly told me "they are not interested in money". I have told them that really, neither am I - I just want to become financially independent so that I don't need to think about where my next $ is coming from. (And therefore be free to concentrate on other areas of my life without needing to spend my time working for $.) They don't really understand, so I've stopped talking about property investments with them.

All the best,

Jason.

Reactions: Les
When someone says around a BBQ gathering "I spent 5 or 6 hours last Saturday with my feet up in front of the TV watching the Eagles"....and everyone says "yeah goodonya - so did I"...."what about you Dazza" ??

You'd sound like a complete tosser if you said "Yeah I spent 5 or 6 hours on Saturday driving around the back blocks of the industrial estates looking for a undervalued bargain"....WTF....but it'd be the truth, so you end up lying or coming up with some boring non-descript auto-cue reply that everyone ignores anyway.!!!

Dazzling

Firstly, I hope you at least had the car radio on to get the score when the Eagles trashed whoever they were playing so you could relate to the conversation your so-called "mates" were having .......

But secondly, I don't know why you would choose to be at a social gathering with people that know you well enough to call you 'Dazza' but where you obviously do not feel comfortable.

This is not meant to be a criticism, but maybe you need new friends or colleagues ........

Dazzling

Firstly, I hope you at least had the car radio on to get the score when the Eagles trashed whoever they were playing so you could relate to the conversation your so-called "mates" were having .......

But secondly, I don't know why you would choose to be at a social gathering with people that know you well enough to call you 'Dazza' but where you obviously do not feel comfortable.

This is not meant to be a criticism, but maybe you need new friends or colleagues ........

I have mates like that too, Theyre cool, down to earth people who are only interested in having a good time, I like them, thats why I choose to hang with them, they seem to know Im making the right moves with my finances while theyre pissing theirs against the wall and they are a little jealous but respectful also, I personally dont find investors fun to be around in a social sense, how boring! I love hanging here though but you know what I mean, I love getting on the turps with larrakins, its a good laugh.

haha - i know what daz means. i love driving around looking for/pacing over/poking into potential bargins - but i always say i'm doing "nothing much" to prevent any long winded explainations.

i personally find most social gathering a bit boring - there is only so much talk about "little johnny's soccer match", comparing recepies and "what about dr mcdreamy" i can handle. must be why we don't socialise much - mother's group drove me insane after 2 weeks!!

I am the first to put my hand out and say congratulations on your successes to someone but sadly I learned some time ago never to discuss what i'm doing with family, friends or associates unless they ask me first, at which time I'll happily engage in a conversation about it.

The only people I talk to is my dad (but he's telling me to stop now), one of my sisters (but no $$ details) and one or two people on this forum.

May I add, that I get the most benefit out of discussing my "stuff" with my forum friends simply because they understand, and whilst I may be doing different "stuff" to my forum friends that I talk to, we all face the same challenges, and we all have the same goals, and more importantly - they're not jealous (that I can see), they are encouraging and we all spur each other on.

let's just say i've learned to keep my mouth shut... i agree it's not a very exciting topic in social situations (except for me....).... most of my friends are talking about holidays around the world, where they spent all their savings or using credit... and me? i kept most of my money to invest in shares and properties.... seems like such a 'boring' thing to do...

We have been accused of "chasing money" from people who work for a living (we dont!;) ). When we ask them if they work for free they have no idea what to say!

We have been told that we are "lucky" we got into the market when we did by pople who are much older than us. I began investing at 19 when the average house in Adelaide was around $150,000. I calculated that if the accusers started investing at the same age they could have picked up property for $30,000! They too would have been "lucky" if they did something about it!

I have heared that "if I had known the property market was going to boom like it has, I would have bought property too" We'll Adelaide is booming now :D AND they are still not buying but trying to come up with the next excuse.

People tend to come up with all sorts of excuses to justify their own lack of action and love to put down people who actually did take some action. I don't take it offensively but realise that's just human nature. The majority of our friends at the moment are like-minded investors :D