Tenant Request Replacing of Ridge Capping

I have a tenant who requested that we have the ridge capping on the roof replaced as they said it is loose and cracked. Having been advise this by the property manager, we went about getting a plumber out to have a look. We were advised by the plummber that this is normal for older homes and 90% of the time there's no issue with rain getting into the home (so we thought fine, that's the end of that).

Two weeks later the tenant has come back saying that they're really concerned and "as a person in the profession". They even went as far as to say that they're we're responsible for their property if anything happens in the event the ceiling collapses.[Note no water marks to be seen inside the house].

Given that they're so concerned, surely there would be proof that there is an actual problem? And they would have had a discussion with the plumber who did the inspection in the first place? Any thoughts on the issue?

P.S. I'm a newbie

I have a tenant who requested that we have the ridge capping on the roof replaced as they said it is loose and cracked. Having been advise this by the property manager, we went about getting a plumber out to have a look. We were advised by the plummber that this is normal for older homes and 90% of the time there's no issue with rain getting into the home (so we thought fine, that's the end of that).

If you have the plumber's advice in writing, you can give the tenants a copy to allay their fears. I think there is an ulterior motive - as "person in the profiession" that they are wanting to "do the work" and charge you?

Discuss with your property manager - they know your rights etc, and act as mediators in such situations.

Cheers,

The Y-man

Welcome to the forum.

We were advised by the plummber that this is normal for older homes and 90% of the time there's no issue with rain getting into the home