Tennants constantly behind in Rent

I'm relatively new to the game and have had a tenant in one of my IP's for a little over a year, and they are constantly behind in rent. This month they are 7 weeks behind.

I am always onto my PM for a please explain, and the tenants eventually pay up the missing rent, but it's never in advance. The PM has given them a couple of notices (back in March) and they have agreed to vacate.

The 12 month lease is up, so no new lease has been signed as they have agreed to vacate.

An suggestions as to what I should be doing would be great.

Cheers

If the demand for rental property is high in the area of the IP then I would terminate asap and re let.

If the rental market not so hot - I would look at a payment schedule for the tenant so that they get back on track.

I would also get landlord insurance as soon as the tenant is up to date (if you don't already have it)

I would also look at your PM's rental arrears policy and procedures, maybe you need to appoint a more proactive PM.

End of the day - you need to decide what is more important; a property with a tenant that pays late constantly or a property that may be vacant for weeks if you terminate the tenancy.

If the demand for rental property is high in the area of the IP then I would terminate asap and re let.

If the rental market not so hot - I would look at a payment schedule for the tenant so that they get back on track.

I would also get landlord insurance as soon as the tenant is up to date (if you don't already have it)

I would also look at your PM's rental arrears policy and procedures, maybe you need to appoint a more proactive PM.

End of the day - you need to decide what is more important; a property with a tenant that pays late constantly or a property that may be vacant for weeks if you terminate the tenancy.