The alexlee Interview

Welcome to the Interview Number Three.

We hope you enjoy hearing this time from alexlee………………

Interview with alexlee – 1st September 2006

How did you get involved in property?

I went to a free seminar held by a property marketing company in Sydney in 1999. I was about 2 years into my first real job (grad at an accounting firm), working and looking for ways to invest. I’d just started buying a few shares and knew nothing about property.

What is your property investment philosophy (CF, CG, renos, houses, flats, buy and hold, develop, flip, wrap, etc)?

So far, buy and hold for CG. Refinance and use the equity to buy more IPs.

I started buying units and townhouses because that was what the marketing company sold at the time, but I’ve since leaned towards houses (my last 2 IPs were houses). Higher land content, no body corp fees, and more potential for re-development. I’m limited by the fact that I’ve been working overseas for the last 5 years so I’m not ‘on the ground’. After I go back to Australia, though, I plan to develop experience with renos and small developments as well as more buy and holds.

What is your IP / property story so far?

I went to the property seminar in 1999. Everything clicked, and using savings I had (pretty much right from childhood, part time jobs, etc) I bought my first IP in Jan 2000. Standard 3 bedroom townhouse in Enoggera, Brisbane. Everything went very well: my own independent research (of agents not associated with the marketing company) confirmed that the price was fair, valuation came in at the purchase price, and the place was rented at a 6.6% yield from day one. So I bought another property in September 2000.