Things to look for in Brisbane houses

Hi,

I am new to looking at houses in Brisbane and have some questions that I hope somebody will answer.

How important is transport ? Is it worthwhile only looking in suburbs with a train station ?
I am looking at properties around 10k's from the city as this seems to be where the $300 - $400k houses (standard 3 bed houses on decent blocks) seem to be.

Will a house be valued higher if it is within walking distance of the river ? (I am looking at Oxley and Corinda for these reasons)

Can somebody point out other things (location related) that are important in Brisbane

Cheers

Hi WillG

Being close to transport in Brisbane is, IMHO, very important. The traffic has become horrendous over the past 18 months or so, and is only going to get worse before it gets better. In Brisbane City Council area, being close to major bus routes is probably sufficient, although buses have to fight for space on the roads, too. Being close to one of the dedicated busways or the train is better. If you venture outside BCC area - e.g into Redlands Shire - the train is (again, IMHO) essential! Our bus services are an absolute joke!!!

Can't really answer your questions re being on the river at Oxley/Corinda, as I don't know the area well enough. If you're buying close to the river, don't forget to check out the flood levels with BCC - yeah, I know there's not enough water to flood anything atm, but it will rain again one day - I hope!

Other general comments about location? Buying closer to the coast means lovely sea breezes during those long hot summer days - most days we can make do with just ceiling fans. BTW, I think ceiling fans and/or air con are essential, wherever you buy - tenants will always chose an IP with, rather than without, fans/aircon.