Tilting brick wall

Just recently noticed my front wall has started to tilt.
Theres basically 50cm of soil pushin behind it, and durin the last down pour, it seems to be getting worse :mad:

Theres also approx 5mm of movement.

How can i do about it? And approximately how much would it cost to fix?
Any help is appreciated.

Thanks!! :)

IMG_8276.jpg

IMG_8277.jpg

IMG_8279.jpg

Well I am no engineer.

ooks to me that it is because the wall is being pushed by the weight of the dirt behind it. Thie suggests one or both of two things has happened.

The weight has increased and/or the wall has weakened.

Perhaps the answer is to remove some of the weight behind it. Dig along the inside of the wall and remove some soil. Maybe drainage is an issue? I imagine waterloged soil sfar heavier?

I would recommend you get someone in for a quote on repairs. A the least they will tell you what is wrong.

Cheers and good luck.

Wiseguy said:
Just recently noticed my front wall has started to tilt.
Theres basically 50cm of soil pushin behind it, and durin the last down pour, it seems to be getting worse :mad:

I'd be getting that thing demolished TODAY, its potentially dangerous.

My guess is that tree roots are pushing the wall over. From your pictures it appears that the rest of the wall is OK and I think I see a largish tree behind the tilting wall. If the tree is to blame then the offending root will have to be excavated or chopped away. Big job. Roots will continue to heave the wall over as they develop.

Wiseguy,
the photos tell the story,once the brick walls start to slip
then imho,the cheapest way is to hire a large bin and buy yourself a
large sledgehammer and knock the fence over,try and save the trees
and install a high hardwood fence,paint over all the old stonework..
good luck
willair..

Get a fencing bloke who will remove it with a bobcat. Then gently taper the soil back into a slight slope.