Tips for first time self-managing property

Hello all

I'm thinking of managing my investment property myself as the tenant is a very good and reliable mature woman. But I've never done it before and have been told I need to get all sorts of papers and contracts and safeguards (both for tenant and landlord) signed. Can anyone advise me how to go about managing my property myself?
I will engage a property management firm to do regular inspections and necessary reports and pay them their one-off fee, but I see no point in paying hundreds of dollars off my rental income to take care of a tenant who is very reliable.
Thank you.

Hello all

I'm thinking of managing my investment property myself as the tenant is a very good and reliable mature woman. But I've never done it before and have been told I need to get all sorts of papers and contracts and safeguards (both for tenant and landlord) signed. Can anyone advise me how to go about managing my property myself?
I will engage a property management firm to do regular inspections and necessary reports and pay them their one-off fee, but I see no point in paying hundreds of dollars off my rental income to take care of a tenant who is very reliable.
Thank you.

I didn't realise there were companies that carried out regular inspections on fee per inspection basis?

If you decide to self manage - why not go the whole hog, inspections and all? Let's face it - you'll be the first point of contact when something goes wrong and is in need of repair. You'll also be the person making the call if the rent falls behind. Given you'll be taking on these responsbilities - a routine inspection should be a walk in the park.

In terms of paper work - I assume a lease is already in place? The only paperwork at present should be a letter to your PM informing them that you'll be ending the agreement.

Cheers

Jamie

Be your own property manager