To buy or not to buy

Hello

I am a novice at residential investment property and am looking to purchase an investment property with the intent to do a renovation and then resell or renovate and rent if it is cash flow positive. the following property is available in our local town.

(from real estate advert)
Take hold of this rare opportunity to buy a home in Ceduna's town centre, only a street back from the foreshore. A unique property with dual zoning, plus it is actually recognised as 2 lots within the title offering many options & potential opportunities. (Subject to Council approval)

- Gorgeous Homestead style character home
- 3 large bedrooms
- High Ceilings, claw foot bath, & pot belly stove feature along with other charming features from the 40's
- Kitchen has original stove & a new freestanding oven
- Formal lounge with brand new split system & fireplace
- Only a few hundred metres to shops & 1 street back from the beach
- Large corner block zoned Residential & Regional Town Centre
- Known as Lots 1 & 2 of 61 Poynton Street (as floor plan shows)
- Huge shed for all the toys with an industrial cool room & fridge previously used for storage of oysters
- Great condition for it's age but equity & rent return would be greatly improved upon if you do decide to update
- Western red cedar external cladding
- Appealing street frontage with side access to the back yard & shed
- Paved undercover entertainment area
- Maybe rent the house & use the shed for your business or run your business from home?
- Current tenant paying $250 a week
- Rent in today's rental climate should fetch $300-$330 a week as is
- Perfect location to live or invest in[/I]Priced at [/I]$308,000

I am seriously keen on this with my idea being to do some work on the house to tidy it up, ie repaint, put in a low maintenance garden, repair some work that has never been built properly etc, probably spend 3 weeks of my time and around $10 -15k and then re rent it at the $330 figure.