Townhouse Calculations

Can someone please review the townhouse calculator and advise me of the CGT and GST component to enable me perform early analysis for profitability of a development before engaging an accountant to validate the numbers.

can some experiences smart investors and builders provide input to the numbers $$$ which will assist beginners like me to understand more about the development analysis and gain more knowledge.

Any constructive crtiticism would be ok as i'm still in learning phase before i get onto any sortt of journey.

i'll be glad if people amend the spreadsheet and re-attach till we make it one of the super models to be included in SS Spread sheet collection
(Information resource)

Also not too sure why would I pay GST as I'm not running a business neither i am a builder

Attachments

• mentone1.xls
    50.5 KB · Views: 132
Manish

Firstly, if you want people to comment on your spreadsheet, it's probably best not to protect the worksheet.

Secondly, your GST calcs are incorrect. Your formula in cell D58 is adding and subtracting the wrong GST components.

You can only reclaim the GST you pay during construction if your intention is to sell them post construction, therefore you're in the business of selling houses and you have to pay GST on the selling prce, although the margin scheme may apply.

However if you apply the margin scheme, you wil llose less than 1/11th of the selling price.

Thirdly, it's highly unlikely that you paid GST when buying the original house for $406k, if it's a knockdown. therefore there's no GST input to reclaim.

Moreover, some of the (smaller) expenses you list won't have GST on them (rates, land tax, some council fees, financing costs, etc).

Finally, you haven't included income tax?

Cheers
Jonathon

unprotected townhouse calculator

Apologies..i should have unprotected the sheet right away

Thanks Jonathan you have been really helpful so far

Manish