Trailing Commissions - Should I Give Back to Customer??

I am a farmer and a barista but also have recently added selling equipment to my resume. Was speaking to a bank and they said if I can get customers to borrow the money through the bank to buy my equipment then I would get a trailling commission. Firstly does any one know what percentage trailling commission I should be negotiating and then should I be giving this back to the customer??? Maybe as a bonus. Could lead to further sales??? Any thoughts?

Thankyou Somersofters - you are awesome,

Charlie

I wouldn't. You earned the sale, it's your income.

Trouble is Mark I only have to introduce my client to the bank so there is less than 5 minutes work for me. I would sort of feel guilty if it were more than say$50 per year.

Any ideas on what percentage they would pay? I realise this is a general question open to variables but are trailling commissions say one tenth of a percent or 5 tenths of a per cent.

Cheers

I've no idea. Why would you feel guilty about receiving a passive income stream?

Always have been of the belief that you should only be paid for the time spent on a job. Of course there are differnt levels of expertise that you pay for per hour in $ terms but for me just spending 5 minutes passing on details, can that seriously be worth money?

I am all for passive income as that is what I have been working towards for the last 6 years but I had never thought of this before only because I guess the opportunity was not there before.

I can understand Mortgage Brokers getting trailling commissions as they actually do some hard yards to earn this but for just passing on a few details are you serious. No wonder things ending up costing a lot more. I knew there was always middlemen but I did not realise there was middlemen middlemen.