Trust

Hi all, newbie here. I would like your advise on this:
Me and friends set up Trust account to purchase IP. We have equities in our own accounts. For taxation purpose, would it be tax deductible if we were to transfer our equity $ to the TRUST Account for the deposit of our IP?
Thanks.

Hi all, newbie here. I would like your advise on this:
Me and friends set up Trust account to purchase IP. We have equities in our own accounts. For taxation purpose, would it be tax deductible if we were to transfer our equity $ to the TRUST Account for the deposit of our IP?
Thanks.

You can't transfer equity. You can either
1. loan money to the trustee (if it is not yourself)
2. settle money on the trust (ie gift).

Neither are tax deductible. If you lend money to the trust and charge interest you may be able to claim any interest you incur - and this will be income to the trust - if the rates are commercial.

Neither are tax deductible. If you lend money to the trust and charge interest you may be able to claim any interest you incur - and this will be income to the trust - if the rates are commercial.

Thanks Terry for prompt reply. Yes I mean lend money to Trust. How do you define commercial rates? Do i charge interest to Trust with bank rates?
Sorry am not sure if how things work in TRUST.
Basically just want to understand which is beneficial to us ..

You would need to charge the trust at least what you are paying in interest, if not more. You should have a written loan agreement which would hold up in court.

However when you say 'friends' this may mean you have a unit trust. You should seek tax advice before getting legal advice as you may be subscribing to buy units.

If you don't have a unit trust set up then seek legal advice asap.

Terry,

The OP said "set up a trust account".