Trusts and enabling tax benefits

Excuse these couple of questions if they sound a bit vague but I'm still learning about Trusts:

1. What is the best way (or ways) to structure an IPs in a Discretionary Trust?

and

2. What are the best way (or ways) to distribute funds to enable maximum tax benefits?

Scenario:
IP Purchase: $150K
Trust Income: $70K-$100K pa
Beneficiary 1 Income: Variable (Paid from the trust?)
Beneficiary 2 Income: $40K

Advice would be much appreciated

Eddie. :)

Hi Eddy

There is no such thing as a "best way", I am afraid. There will be options that will suit you better than some, and others better than you. Even then, there will be options that work better for you this year than they do next year, or last year. Of course, family situations also make it hard to say.

Welcome to the world of tax!

I am not sure quite what you mean with your first question, and as for the second . . .

We would normally try to have the trust pay as many "personal" expenses as possible to

a. reduce your need for disposable income; and
b. reduce the profit

Thereafter. we would distribute income to the family members who have no income at all and thus chew up all of the tax free threshholds, then we would distribute income to people in the 17% tax bracket before moving to the 30% tax bracket.

I am sorry this not more of a help, but, there are no easy answers on this one.

Have fun

Dale

ps - do you have a list of those potential tax deductions that I posted some time ago now? If not, let me know and I will post them here again.

Originally posted by DaleGG

HI Dale

We would normally try to have the trust pay as many "personal" expenses as possible to

I was reading your manual the other night and you list some of the personal expenses you can claim, but I noticed that a lot of them are related to Business Expenses. Eg. Gifts to staff members, coffee and Biscuits for Office, etc.